Review: Highland Hellcat by Mary Wine

As I don’t have enough time to write my normal, lengthy review I decided to use the  format presented by jennylovestoread, and called “3 reasons review” – short and sweet.
 

First a short synopsis:

Connor Lindsey is a handsome Highland laird, but his clan’s loyalty is hard won and he takes nothing for granted. He was born a bastard and he knows how hard life can be with such a stigma, especially when your parents aren’t around to protect you. Small wonder he’ll do whatever it takes to find a virtuous wife, even if he has to kidnap herand he needs a wife because he is looking for allies against the rich and strong Douglas clan – they had kidnapped his younger sister for a turn and are looking forward to taking his land as well.

Lindsey chose the Chattan clan but the girl promised to him, Deidre Chattan, has been unfaithful even before their marriage. A no-no to say the least of it. She had two sisters, though…The youngest one, Brina Chattan has always defied convention because she has been named a Bride of Christ from her birth. She sees no reason to be docile now that she’s been captured by Lindsey instead of her sister and taken to his storm-tossed castle in the Highlands, far from her home.When a rival laird’s interference nearly tears them apart, Connor discovers that a woman with a wild streak suits him much better than he’d ever imagined…

1. Reason you chose this book

I won this book courtesy of Blodeuedd and her friend, bf, who very kindly drew my number. I promised to write a review. I try to keep my promises. By the way the interview with the author was interesting and funny so I decided to give her book a chance.

2. Reasons you liked or disliked this book
-I liked some period details and the fact that the author definitely tried to describe medieval Scottish Highlands as well as she could. Of course the material world is nothing compared to describing the way of thinking, a definitely more difficult task and here I think the author failed, putting too modern words into her medieval characters’ mouths…

– This one wasn’t really my style of romance. The book has been touted as “deeply romantic”. Hmm, deeply indeed. All these “deeply romantic” situations (mostly involving the right girl and the right boy in bed) I found rather spurious, written just to titillate naughty teen girls. The author can’t even claim she wanted to develop her readers’ imagination as these scenes were rather painfully detailed to tell you the truth. I think it was my biggest hurdle; that and the flatness of  main characters as well.

 
-The plot was rather predictable and underdeveloped – I could put down the book without a problem and I wasn’t in a hurry to return to it…one measly turn of action in the whole book.
3. Reason you are recommending this book
-Actually I am not recommending it at all, unless you are an irredeemable fan of such stories and/or you love being titillated…but still thanks for the thrill of winning at least one giveaway!
This entry was posted in book review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: Highland Hellcat by Mary Wine

  1. Blodeuedd says:

    Lol, you are too funny :)This one was ok for me, some fun situations, some romance, some kilts, I do not expect much from my HR, they are meant to be silly and underdeveloped 😉 Oh I am just wicked tooNo comment on the accent? That drove me insane

  2. anachronist says:

    Actually I liked the fact that Scots spoke with an accent…somehow I am immune to the charms of kilts. I might be too demanding when it comes to novels though.

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    Oh you liked it, good for you 🙂 It tends to annoy me if they do it too much, since it takes place in Scotland, and the do not speak English..oh I should just stop there.Immune to kilts, the horror

  4. anachronist says:

    Immune to kilts, the horrorLOL just imagine that!since it takes place in Scotland, and the do not speak English..Well, they do but you won't understand a word anyway…;)

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    *shakes head* No love for the kilt, I am not quite over that yet.Lol, I do love the accent you know, just in writing it's kind of, ok, and it is not like they spoke like that 500 years ago or whenever the novel took place. Still gotta love the accent

  6. anachronist says:

    The accent is a killer – I almost doubted my own English when hearing it – but certainly it kills you with charms.No love for the kilt, I am not quite over that yetWe share our feeling on this one then, great to know!

Comments are closed.