Wishful Wednesday, 2 February

The meme is hosted by Brooke Bluestocking Guide.

 Welcome to Wishful Wednesday!
This week I feel totally disgruntled by romance so my wish is pretty much as down-to-earth as it could be – a book about immigrants, an autobiography in fact –  
Lost in Translation by Eva Hoffman

Now a bit about the book.

Eva Hoffman was thirteen years old when, in 1949, she left Poland with her father, mother, and younger sister, traveling by ship to Canada, where the family settled in Vancouver, British Columbia. The Hoffmans had been among the small remnant of Jews in Poland after World War II, and they were never allowed to forget completely the irrational power of anti-Semitism. The family’s early years in Canada were hard–they began by selling second-hand merchandise (“junk,” Hoffman calls it) from a basement, later opening a store–but Eva excelled in high school and went on a scholarship to Rice University, where she majored in literature. She was an excellent pianist as well, and for a long time she considered a career in music, but ultimately, after receiving a doctorate in literature from Harvard University, she became a journalist, specializing in literary and cultural subjects; she is currently an editor at THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW.

source: http://www.enotes.com/lost-translation-eva-hoffman-salem/lost-translation

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in wishful Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wishful Wednesday, 2 February

  1. Blodeuedd says:

    Good pick this week. I do not read many real books, but sometimes I do pick one and is amazed

  2. anachronist says:

    Thanks Blodeuedd :)I hope I will be amazed by this one as it also deals with acquiring a foreign language – an issue very close to my heart.

  3. This sounds good! Ok the WW post is up for you to add your link.

  4. Tracy says:

    This one sounds really good, anachronist – I look forward to reading your review. I'm currently reading Shadow of the Sun by the journalist Ryszard Kapuscinski – about his life and travels in several African countries.

  5. anachronist says:

    Thanks Brooke I added my link!I am not a big fan of Mr. Kapuscinski but I am fully aware of his popularity. His biography, some say rather scandalous and mean, has been published in Poland not so long ago. If you are interested Tracy I might dig the title up for you.

  6. I might be interested in that. I really enjoyed his Travels With Herodotus.Canada is not always kind to immigrants. It is amazing how hard some people will work and overcome things.

  7. Tracy says:

    I'd be interested in his biography, anachronist.

  8. anachronist says:

    It is entitled "Kapuściński non-fiction" but it was published in October 2010 so currently it is only available in Polish – sorry! The author is Artur Domosławski, also a journalist. I am sure it will be translated soon.

  9. Great pick this week! I'm loving the sound of this one…I really need to read more books like this 🙂

  10. anachronist says:

    Thanks Melissa I am looking forward to reading this one!

  11. Demitria says:

    I usually don't read non-fiction, but this looks really good. I'm curious to hear your review.demitrialunetta.blogspot.com

  12. anachronist says:

    Thanks Demitria – I hope to have a bit more free time this weekend and read it.

Comments are closed.