Five most annoying literary romances

It is known that there is no novel, especially no YA novel, without a romance. Romantic pairs are even featured in the Bible! Romance – for good or for BAD – is an immovable fixture in fiction. Somehow love makes the world, and the printing presses, go round as efficiently as money. Of course romance might be presented well, adding to the story, or badly, and destroy it completely for any sensible reader. If you read novels I am sure you know what I mean. You try to imagine such a romantic pair in reality and…you fail. In other words – bad romance. Nowadays books are full of them but even some classics didn’t avoid this trap.

Here is my list of the five most annoying literary romances. Tell me what you think of it and what you would add to the list (or deduct from it) – have fun!

  1. Bella Swan and a certain glittering vampire (ok, Edward Cullen, here, I can remember his name and I am not affraid to repeat it if I must) from Twilight (written by Stephanie Meyer). Do I have to say more? She is weak, snivelling and stupid, he is stupid and glittering and impossible conceited. A pair of dumb teens who will never grow up because they live in a world without logic. They even have a child. Social care should intervene!
  2. Heathcliff and Cathy Earnshaw from Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. I was never able to understand what he saw in her and vice versa – perhaps their own faults. Both seemed a bad case of narcissism anyway and should undergo a treatment as they were mentally unstable.
  3. Luce Price and Daniel Grigori (so a fallen angel) from Fallen by Lauren Kate. He seems to be too dumb to joke or smile, she seems too dumb to notice his flaws. Or anything else around her. Love might be blind but not exactly that stupid! Retractable wings? *SNORT*
  4. Tess and Angel Clare from Tess of the d’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy. If you haven’t read this one at least watch a very good (although a bit long) R.Polanski movie (Tess). These two were able to botch up a perfectly nice, sweet marriage (if such a thing exists) and then it got only worse – she killed for practically no reason, he wasn’t able to defend her and/or hide her. Brain surgeon, quick!!!
  5. Romeo Montague and Jullietta Capulet from William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Julliet. Who doesn’t know their story – once again two teenagers who don’t see, don’t think, don’t plan properly just fall in love and and go to bed. Small wonder they end up dead. After all it is survival of the fittest, right?
This entry was posted in literature theory, miscellaneous essays. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Five most annoying literary romances

  1. Oh Lord. Luce and Daniel hahahahaha how did I forget how HORRIBLE that romance was?! I didn't like that book to begin with hahaHappy (Anti)Valentine's Day!

  2. anachronist says:

    I am glad you liked my choice! :)Happy middle February dear Melissa!

  3. I'm glad I'm not the only one who counts "glittery" as a character flaw! Happy V Day!

  4. Blodeuedd says:

    Lol, you are the best, you know that ;)Oh Bella, honestly, it's a miracle she didn't fall down the stairs and break her neck. Worst couple ever.And yes Luce and Daniel, BIG SIGH

  5. anachronist says:

    Lawral glittery is most definitely a character flaw! Happy Chinese New Year (whenever it comes) because V Day is not a holiday I observe.Blodeuedd and here I thought you are the best (and if not the best then as close as one gets, especially when it comes to the romances!)

  6. OMG, Luce and Daniel was one of those forhead bangers. I never could understand what Luce saw in him. He was a jerkoff (worse words could be used). I never liked him, not even at the end of the book. And Luce, she was annoying. As for Romeo & Juliet, it's true. It's a wonder that teenagers make it to adult hood. It kills me the stupidity of their relationships. I could go on, but we will leave it at R&J because they said it all with their deaths. Great post!JenIn the Closet With a Bibliophile

  7. Demitria says:

    There are hordes of teens who would lynch you for #1…I always agreed with #5, I even talk about it in my book :)demitrialunetta.blogspot.com

  8. anachronist says:

    He was a jerkoff (worse words could be used).I could definitely imagine what words you would like to use! ;)I also doubt R&J would stay together for long. I suppose right after the first child (most probably even sooner) Juliet would return crying to her mom and pop complaining of a total lack of basic comforts and criminal negligence from the side of her irresponsible husband. Meanwhile Romeo would be dead drunk in a tavern so he wouldn't even notice.There are hordes of teens who would lynch you for #1Yes, I know Demitria and I am prepared to die if I must. For the greater good. ;))))

  9. It was creepy how Edward would watch Bella sleep every night, all night. Plus a hundred year old virgin and he could finally get some and he holds out for marriage?! Totally not believable.Wuthering Heights was about many things but I don't think love was one of them.

  10. anachronist says:

    It was creepy how Edward would watch Bella sleep every night, all night.Right and he did it without her consent, at first! A voyeur and a vamp – definitely a kinky mixture! The fact that he held out for marriage was even less strange than the fact that he could have sex at all…according to Ms Meyer, his creator, a vampire's body "freezes" during the changing and keeps the same shape forever, that's why female vampires can't get pregnant; so how come male vampires can…ok,I won't say more.

  11. Tracy says:

    Sorry, but I'm going to disagree with you about Shakespeare's doomed young lovers, anachronist.Shakespeare deliberately chose two protagonists who were as young as he could really get away with – he needed to show innocence on both sides being destroyed because of a pointless never-ending feud, all of that human potential sacrificed on the altar of pig-headed stupidity. If Romeo and Juliet were older it wouldn't have had the same impact.

  12. anachronist says:

    Tracy you are always welcome to disagree with me. Innocence or not, these two (R&J) get on my nerves every time I read/watch their story. Of course a pointless feud and pig-headedness is a stupid thing but what about pointlessly ruining your own life just because you fall in love? If only Romeo and/or Jullietta had been a bit smarter they would have found a way to end the feud AND survive.

Comments are closed.