Wishful Wednesday, 30 March

The meme is hosted by Brooke from Brooke Bluestocking Guide.




 Welcome to Wishful Wednesday! 
This week I wish for a historical novel:

House of Dreams by Pauline Gedge

Book info (from Amazon.com): House of Dreams is the story of an indomitable, ambitious young woman and her rise from village midwife to royal concubine, the beloved of mighty Pharaoh.
As she moves from initiate to insider, she stirs the passions and the jealousies of those around her. And as her power grows, so does her ambition. But whose ambition is she serving? For always behind the comforts and power of privilege, there is the inescapable, ambiguous influence of Hui, the mysterious benefactor who first noticed her.

This entry was posted in wishful Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wishful Wednesday, 30 March

  1. Demitria says:

    Sounds really interesting!demitrialunetta.blogspot.com

  2. I have an enjoyment for books that take place in Egypt, so this intrigues me. However, I really have a hard time with the lives of concubines. I guess it's because I feel like they are jipped in some way, destined to live to "service" the king or whatever they are intended for. But, still, it sounds pretty good. I don't think I hit enough fic with Egypt involved.JenIn the Closet With a Bibliophile

  3. Hm… this one sounds interesting. Hopefully it lives up to the blurb!

  4. anachronist says:

    As soon as I read it I will post my review, Demitiria and Melissa.Jen I do understand your dislike of the fate of concubines but those were the times and I suppose you could always have worse luck than that. Especially the concubines of a pharaoh led rather luxurious lives, compared to, say simple peasant women.

  5. Tracy says:

    I look forward to your review, anachronist. I hope the historical part of the fiction is reasonably accurate.

  6. anachronist says:

    I do hope it too, Tracy!

Comments are closed.