Mini review: Intoxication by Tim Kizer

Author: Tim Kizer
Title: Intoxication
Genre: suspense novelette
Form: e-book
Target audience: adults


Why I read it: I was contacted by the author some time ago; he was kind enough to send me a link to the excerpt of this short story, published on the Internet. After reading it I agreed to write an impartial review and then I was sent the full text for free.

Summary

A woman called Leslie thinks somebody tries to poison her at work. One of her female colleagues. Plenty of people, her boss among them, think she is mad. She is looking for the answer on her own, helped sometimes by her boyfriend. She finds what she wanted to find but not without paying a price for it.

What I liked:

  • – the plot was planned well and fast paced enough to keep you interested
  • – the main character, Leslie, was a kick-ass girl
  • – the suspense factor kept me curious
  • – the ending was original
  • – reading it was a breeze

What I didn’t like:

  • – the psychological background of main characters was not sufficiently exposed (in my very humble opinion of course, well, I guess the text was too short)
  • – some dialogues I found rather stiff
  • – if you like this game you can easily find some holes in the plot (well, I must admit I am one of these nerds)

Final verdict:

I don’t like novelettes, I prefer longer stories or series but this one surprised me very nicely. I think the author has growth potential. His ideas are fresh and his narration flows easily but I would like to see more psychology behind the madness (if possible).

You see? I can write short reviews too!

This entry was posted in book review, mini review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mini review: Intoxication by Tim Kizer

  1. Tracy says:

    Now you've piqued my curiosity!

  2. anachronist says:

    I am glad to read that, Tracy!

  3. Blodeuedd says:

    This is sure a short review, I am so proud of you 🙂 Cos they are so hard, I tend to ramble on sometimes 😉

  4. anachronist says:

    Thanks Blodeuedd! Ramblings happen even if you are good at it!

  5. Tim Kizer says:

    Brevity is the soul of wit, as they say. I believe that this review captures the essence of my novelette and is quite effective. I like the format, too. Well done, Bridget! Tim Kizer

  6. I prefer longer stories too. This one does sound interesting. Good short review! I don't think I could do that well.I am a rambler. Yep, that is me. I just ramble on and on. That's all. Yep, won't say another word. Or write. Yep, not another word. 😉

  7. I think I know that woman Leslie. I think I went to high school with her.

  8. anachronist says:

    Tim thank you very much for your comment! I always appreciate feedback from authors of reviewed books! I wish you a long and profitable career!Melissa I read your reviews and I think you are not as bad as you think. Anyway better than me!The Red Witch I think there are many such women around. I wouldn't like to befriend her though.

  9. Deepali says:

    Very interesting – I'm happy with the length of the review too! 😀 Today is just one of those days that I need quick gems of reviews, not the whole line by line analysis!

  10. @I wouldn't like to befriend her though.I was friends with her for 30 years. I stopped last fall because I was tired of emotional effort it took to stay friends. Was anyone really trying to poison Leslie?

  11. anachronist says:

    Hi Deepali, nice to see you again! I think I am going to write more mini reviews, seeing how popular this one is!Was anyone really trying to poison Leslie? The answer is yes and I admire you for befriending such a person for such a long period of time.

Comments are closed.