Review: The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next 03) by Jasper Fforde

  • Paperback: 375 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (Non-Classics) (July 24, 2004)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0143034359
  • ISBN-13: 978-0143034353
  • Target audience: basically everybody who likes reading
  • Genre: sci fi, horror, detective, litpunk (with elements of steampunk)


Synopsis:
Thursday Next is on the run. The evil Goliath company, outsmarted by her in the first part, haven’t settled the score with her yet and, being truly evil, they are trying their best. They eradicated her beloved husband, Landen, and now they are hunting for her. The problem is that Thursday is pregnant so a showdown must wait a bit. She decides to go into hiding. Could you find a better place than in a section of BookWorld called the Well of Lost Plots? It is a place where reside unpublished novels – very safe, very cozy, slightly strange but it is fiction, isn’t it? As soon as Thursday gets her bearings, though, she finds that ‘something is rotten in the state of the BookWorld’. It is connected to a new software, to be implemented very soon, called ‘UltraWord™. In order to provide higher profits to publishers it might cause libraries close down overnight and second-hand bookshops becoming a thing of the past. What’s more, Thursday finds out she has one more and a very personal enemy – Aornis Hades, the sister of Acheron, killed by her in ‘Jane Eyre’. Aornis is a mnemonomorph – she can invade your brain like a nasty virus, distorting, changing and deleting memories. Will Thursday manage to prevent the worst? Will she find her husband or, at least, remember his name? Will she save the BookWorld in the process?

What I liked:
The plot was original to the extreme but it was a likeable extreme. I enjoyed many beautiful, intriguing moments while meeting characters from many classic books (Mansfield Park, Macbeth, Enid Blyton stories, Alice in Wonderland, Moby Dick and so on) but perhaps the best was the Anger Management Treatment all Wuthering Heights characters had to undergo
( I knew it! I knew it! Now imagine my happy anachronistic dance) and the way the author solved the mystery of Heathcliff’s sudden wealth. Definitely I agree with this version (but, as I am cynical and evil, I won’t say anything more – read the book and find out on your own!).
Thursday was as kick-ass as usual, despite being pregnant. Her tutor in the BookWorld, Miss Havisham (what Dickens book she reminds you of?), was even funnier. Overall it was a sequel which was better than the first part – a rare thing indeed – neat and trim, without unnecessary black holes. 
What I didn’t like:
The book was too short. I got addicted and now I must have the next installment.
Final verdict:
If you haven’t read any of this series yet treat yourself to it asap. You won’t regret it. Good news is that you can even start with the second part – you will miss some info but not too much; this one can work as a stand-alone novel without any problems.
I decided to post several quotes below as teasers:
But you know, sometimes, just afterwards, you know, when
there is that really nice moment and I’m in his big strong arms and feeling sleepy and warm and contented, I can feel there is something that I need just outside my grasp – something I want but can’t have.’
‘You mean love?’
‘No – a Mercedes.’”
‘Who are we waiting for?’ asked the Bellman.
‘Godot,’ replied Benedict.
‘Absent again. Anybody know where he is?’
There was a mass shaking of heads.”
“There aren’t enough minutes in the day for one Solomon – as soon as he did
that “divide the baby in two” thing, everyone and his uncle wanted him to arbitrate, from corporate takeovers to playground disputes. So he did what any right-thinking businessman would do: he franchised. How else do you think he could afford the temple and the chariots and the navy and whatnot? “
“’Insider trading: Slang term for Internal Narrative Manipulation. Illegal since 1932 and contrary to Item B17(g) of the Narrative Continuity Code, this self-engineered plot fluctuation is so widespread within the BookWorld that it has to be dealt with on a discretionary basis to enable it to be enforced at all. Small manipulations such as dialogue violations are generally ignored, but larger unlicensed plot adjustments are aggressively investigated. The most publicised flaunting of these rules was by Heathcliff when he burned down Wuthering Heights. Fined and sentenced to 150 hours’ community service within Green Eggs and Ham, Heathcliff was just one of many high-profile cases that
Jurisfiction were prosecuting at that time ‘”
ETA: I almost forgot my badge:

fully deserved!

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in book review, one brilliant book and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next 03) by Jasper Fforde

  1. Tracy says:

    I'm so glad you enjoyed this! It really is my absolute favourite – it even almost tempted me to read Great Expectations, just so I could 'meet' Miss Havisham 'for real'!

  2. Blodeuedd says:

    They are so fun and so very weird. How does he come up with it all? 😀

  3. anachronist says:

    How does he come up with it all?I don't know, maybe he stays in touch with some elves? Or vampires? 😉Tracy this one was absolutely delightful, thanks a lot for turning my attention to this series!

  4. @it might cause libraries close down overnight and second-hand bookshops becoming a thing of the past.Noooooooo! I'll bet Heathcliff got his money somewhere unsavoury. Godot might have shown up but pretended to be someone else.

  5. This is the one I need to read yet. I know I left Thursday preggie. So, I need to get to this one. I didn't read it because the library had the first 2 and not this one and then after a bit, I forgot. Now, that I'm reminded… I need to catch up! Thanks for the review. I love this series.

  6. anachronist says:

    The Red Witch you didn't guess it right!Melissa I love this series too and the pleasure of writing this review was mine!

Comments are closed.