Mini summer review: Shady Lady (Corine Solomon 03) by Ann Aguirre.




Book info:
Form: e-book, pdf format
Genre: urban fantasy
Target audience: adults


Synopsis:

Because of her previous troubles Corine finds herself caught in the war between two powerful Latino druglords – Escobar and Montoya. A very dangerous position for her and everybody close to her heart. What’s more she must pay off a certain demon called Maury who saved her life in Kilmer. Not enough trouble? The little pawnshop, her pride and her only source of a stable income, has been blown up by a bomb planted by one of Montoya’s henchmen, killing an innocent man in the process. Plenty of grief, I know. Good thing is that Corine can always count on her friends, even those she knows very little about – Kel Ferguson saves her life right at the beginning of the novel and then assists her in more than one way. Shannon, Jesse, Chuch and Eva never fail to help her when she needs it the most. Apart from that plenty of things are explained in this one – Kel’s real identity, Corine’s dark secrets from her past and why she never felt exactly worth of Chance’s attention and company.

Titillating factor:

Yes, this time Corine goes all the way with one of her suitors (I won’t reveal who), getting her short HFN. Then she makes some serious decisions concerning her private life. I wasn’t surprised by her choice but I couldn’t help smiling at the cunning way Ms Aguirre plays with her readers. No mercy again. Oh and there is one rather disturbing scene of attempted rape. Well, if you deal with demons…

What I liked:

· The narration was chock-full with action – not even one boring moment. I love it!

· The glimpses of Corine’s sad past really made plenty of things we’d been told previously more logical, understandable and real – nice touch!

· No more ugly love triangles – finally!

· Kel has proven to be unique – I won’t say more in order not to spoil but somehow I tolerated his supernatural identity far better than usually.

· Corine becomes really though in this part and the more though she is the more compelling I find her.

· I wholeheartedly share the authoress’s take on bigger monkeys, dolls and clowns.

· The ending, although leaving plenty of leeway, was slickly done. No memories, no pain but is oblivion pernament? Somehow I don’t think so.

What I didn’t like:

· Corine’s fight with a certain Knight of Hell was a bit…over the top? Too easy to be true? Unrealistic? I know, I know it’s a fantasy book but still…

· Montoya brothers…so powerful, so uncanny, so skilled…yet so stupid…give me more intellgent baddies, next time, please!

· Im general don’t like rape or attempted rape scenes. Perhaps this one was needed but it made me squirm.

· Chihuahua learned to write using Scrabbles tiles. Urgh. A veterinarian should examine it thoroughly. It is most certainly not a dog.

Finally the cover…meh and meh again!

Final verdict:

An almost-perfect summer read. I am looking forward to the next part, Devil’s Punch. Below you can see how  Shady Lady drink might look like:

This entry was posted in book review, mini review, urban fantasy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mini summer review: Shady Lady (Corine Solomon 03) by Ann Aguirre.

  1. Lena says:

    I wouldn't mind having a Shady Lady right now. You gave a great review, I don't like when the bad guys are not so intelligent…makes it less believable. The names Montoya and Escobar seems like Italian names, and I liked the way they sounds when I say them out loud. lol. Sounds like a great book, interesting and entertaining.

  2. anachronist says:

    Lena, I am glad you liked my review! Escobar and Montoya are real names of drug cartel bosses in Latin America. They have been killed some time ago!

  3. Mel says:

    Oooo, the shady lady certianly looks yummy for a warm day today! :)Glad you seemed to like this more than teh first two – I think it's my favourite mostly as I liked Kel and the non-stop action! 🙂

  4. anachronist says:

    Mel I totally agree with your assessment – the third one was better than the previous two and Kel was kind of cute…

  5. Blodeuedd says:

    I so like your summer reading material my soon to b fluffy dressed in pink friend 😉 I want to read these too

  6. anachronist says:

    Me dressed in fluffy pink clothes!?!?!? What a scandalous slander!!! I like red, I like white, I like black brown and blue but pink? Not even in your dreams!!Oh do read these. Even Corine doesn't have pink clothes on. You'll see.

  7. I'm definitely not going to lie…that cover sucks! In fact, the cover and title do NOT go well together at all. I had no idea Shady Lady was a drink, thought it was the lady on the cover acting shady, hahahaha! HOWEVER, because you like it it's probably good. I find that when you like a supernatural book, I do to. Although, just because I like one doesn't mean you will too *wink wink*. I do love mini reviews, btw, I'm going to check out this series because you say it's good. And, I don't like giant dolls or clowns…lastly, chihuahua's were never meant near scrabble boards!JenIn the Closet With a Bibliophile

  8. anachronist says:

    Although, just because I like one doesn't mean you will too *wink wink*.LOL very true but still…it's always worth checking on your own, isn't it?Ok, I hope I will see your review of this series soon!

  9. Actually the idea of a scrabble playing dog makes me want to read it more! lol

  10. anachronist says:

    He wasn't playing, he was spelling words and sentences with letters, little unnatural monster. I bet it is not a dog at all – it must be a cat!

Comments are closed.