Wishful Wednesday, 17 August

The meme is hosted by Brooke from Brooke Bluestocking Guide.



 Welcome to Wishful Wednesday! 



This week my wish is simple, nice and oh so predictable… a new book of  

David Liss was published on August 9th by Random House. Its title is: 





The Twelfth Enchantment

Here is the blurb (from Goodreads):

Lucy Derrick is a young Regency woman of good breeding and poor finances: after the death of her father, she is forced to maintain a shabby dignity as an unwanted boarder with her unpleasant uncle, fending off marriage to the local mill owner, Mr. Olson. But her prospects of even that unwanted match are complicated by the appearance of a beautiful stricken man who appears on the family doorstep begging her not to marry Mr. Olson just as he collapses. This appearance seems to open the door to a series of increasingly strange occurrences surrounding Lucy. Soon it becomes clear that there is more at stake than her own happiness — and that she is caught between two forces, one ancient and one modern — and that the soul of her very country is at stake.




This entry was posted in wishful Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wishful Wednesday, 17 August

  1. Blodeuedd says:

    Hope you get it :=D

  2. Tracy says:

    Sounds interesting – wonder what the other eleven enchantments are.

  3. Sounds great.I'm with Tracy, wondering what the other eleven are.

  4. Hope you get it, but what if there is a 13th? 😉

  5. anachronist says:

    LOL, when I get it and read it I will review it for sure, spilling all what there is to spill about all twelve enchantments and even the thirteenth. Thanks for comments!

  6. Okay, admittedly I giggled a little bit at the synopsis while also thinking it sounded good. Why do the make synopsis' sound so korny nowadays? I like to use my I-know-this-is-silly-but-my-voice-is-very-serious voice to read them. But really, you'll have to let me know if you like it. It's been awhile since I've picked up historical fiction. I may need to do it again, sooner rather than later.Jen

  7. anachronist says:

    You might bet I will let you know, Jen. Thanks for a visit!

Comments are closed.