Friday Flash Fiction

Amy C at Romance Book Wyrm and Dottie atTink’s Place have come up with the idea for a Monday Morning Flash Fiction challenge. Each Monday a new picture prompt will be posted and if you choose to participate – you publish your Fiction Flash  on Friday – 350 words, give or take. Below you can find the picture posted last Monday:

I decided to be a good girl and write just a short story concerning the pic of the week (yes, I did take a leaf out of Bloddeued’s book composing this one). If you wish to read the continuation of Kanji’s story, state so in your comment – I might write it another time, maybe next week.

Her wish finally came true. She was younger and beautiful again. The most beautiful woman in the whole kingdom. There was just one snag – she lost her memory. Completely. She stood there, in the middle of a forest, her precious truth-saying mirror lying in the grass, not remembering her name, her identity, her purpose in life. She has forgotten what to do with her hands and feet. She has forgotten her mother tongue. Her brain was one big blank slate with nothing left apart from the simplest impulses and reactions.

Hunger. Fear. Pain. Keeping her balance to stand upright. Cold shadows. Sunlight on her arms. Everything new and strange as if she was standing on an alien planet and experiencing completely new feelings for the first time in her life. Suddenly she felt a pricking sensation on the nape of her head. She turned – another instinctive reaction. A small girl dressed in white with big opalescent wings of a giant butterfly was standing nearby, observing her with a casual, cheeky smirk. Any other human would say that the face of the child was cruel and mean but she couldn’t know that much. She has forgotten how to read people’s facial expressions. All she was able to do was to copy the smile. It seemed weird but somehow right.

“Are you happy now, my queen?” asked the girl, smiling wider and showing tiny, white, pointy teeth, belonging rather to an animal’s mouth than to that of a human. Not getting an answer she cocked her head to one side. She would look cute indeed if only her face were less predatory.

” Do you understand me at all, my queen? You have forgotten how to talk, haven’t you? If you can’t answer I guess I am right, don’t bother, I’m just checking the effectiveness of my spell. I would love to get Snow White see you in your current state, though – I bet she would laugh her pretty head off and kiss my both cheeks for such a fine piece of magical work. Bye for now and just in case, never make a deal with a fairy again. You are definitely not smart enough.”

The child disappeared in a flash of shimmering light. The scene left her totally perplexed. She did hear the words and they somehow sounded familiar but she didn’t understand their meaning. Now she faced another, far more urgent puzzle. How to move a leg?

This entry was posted in friday flash fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Friday Flash Fiction

  1. Blodeuedd says:

    Lol, oh you are wicked ;)I liked how you gave her what she deservedMaybe I also should continue my story and have the queen regret everything and meet a guy and live happily ever after…ha, just kidding

  2. Great! I love what you and B did with this picture.My story was very sad this week. Have a great weekend.M

  3. anachronist says:

    Thanks, I am glad you liked my version of Snow White. I am looking forward to introducing seven dwarves to you all!

  4. Very nice. I feel kind of bad for her though.

  5. anachronist says:

    Carol, before you get all mushy over the evil queen I would like to remind you that she wanted Snow White dead just because the girl was younger and prettier.

  6. Well done! I've been enjoying all the retellings this week! Finally the queen gets hers!

  7. anachronist says:

    I'm glad you liked it – it was fun to write!

  8. Tracy says:

    There's losing your memory, and there's really losing your memory! That's one very powerful spell!

  9. anachronist says:

    I wanted to hit her hard but be a bit more sophisitcated than brothers Grimm's stories. She was one cruel lady.

  10. BAHHAHAHAHAHA! That was awesome! The queen SO deserved that! And really, no one should *ever* make a deal with a fae, they will screw you over any way they can. :DJenIn the Closet With a Bibliophile

  11. anachronist says:

    How I love hearing your digital laugh, Jen! 😀 I am glad you liked it!

Comments are closed.