Mini review: Lana Halliday – a short story by Lulu Sullivan

Why I read it: I was contacted by the author – thank you very much! – and she asked me to read and review her short story; it was provided  free of charge in exchange for an impartial opinion. That fact, of course, didn’t influence my review in any way and I wasn’t compensated in any form for writing it.  As always the pleasure was mine.


Book info:



Form: e-book, pdf format
Title: Lana Halliday
Author: Lulu Sullivan
Genre: mystery, comedy, 
Target audience: pretty much everyone


Synopsis:

Lana Halliday meets her friend, Ronnie, for tea. He is recovering from a broken heart and, like any good friend, Lana lends her sympathetic ear to him and learns about the whole business in great detail.

Ronnie happened to be engaged to a delicate and elfish but rather mercenary girl called May. You might know her type – a girl every male around feels honour-bound to protect because she seems to be such a dainty, sweet, helpless little doll. Of course usually she is anything but. Clever May broke her engagement with Ronnie as soon as she found out no well-paid job was waiting for him despite having a rich, well-connected uncle. She also kept her engagement ring because it came with a huge, expensive diamond. To add insult to injury, she took the diamond out and had it set in a tiepin; then she gave it to her newest boyfriend, Peter Maddox Peters, a popular writer. Sweet, wasn’t it?

Ronnie is being in dire straits now – he bought that diamond by fabricating a cheque with his uncle’s signature (one zero more, one zero less, who cares?) and now he must face his anger unless he can reimburse him, which of course is not possible. Ronnie would love to have that diamond back, sell it and return the money but he is hardly a man equal to the task – his poor efforts lead to an incarceration. Our blonde Lana has to intervene, as she would do anything for a good friend wilting in jail…especially as she is enjoying every moment of it!

What I liked:

Lana Halliday was a girl after my own heart – clever, devious, not afraid of getting dirty, always there when her friend needs her the most. I like her fierce loyalty and recourcefulness.

The sense of humour – as always Ms Sullivan made me laugh. I do appreciate it more and more. Thank you!
The cover is nice!

What I didn’t like:

I know it sounds silly but this story was simply too short. I want a big fat book featuring Lana Halliday! Pretty please!

Final verdict:

If you like reading short stories with kick-ass heroines do go for it! If you prefer longer books – there is still Brightwing out there waiting for you!

This entry was posted in book review, chicklit, crime, mini review, novellas & short stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Mini review: Lana Halliday – a short story by Lulu Sullivan

  1. This book sounds so cute! I think I already love Lana and I haven't read anything about her. I get sad in short stories because they are just too short. I really do love the cover as well.Jen

  2. You're back!!! This does sound interesting. Too bad it's so short.

  3. Anachronist says:

    Jen, I do hope this short story is just a beginning!Brooke I am back…but I don't know how long…:) Thanks for a visit anyway!

  4. I love short stories. I like the title moreso than the cover. But sounds really good. Wondering how much it is?

  5. Aurian says:

    Lovely review, you tickled my interest with it.

  6. Anachronist says:

    Bad, bad Anachronist.If you want to purchase the story here is the link to Amazon:http://www.amazon.com/Lana-Halliday-ebook/dp/B005IDBN78It's not expensive and instantly downloadable (the Kindle version at least)Aurian, thanks and thanks for stopping by!

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    Ahem, this book is pretty pink and cute, are you slipping my friend? ;)Lol, sounds fun 😀

  8. Oh I love it when the main complaint is that it's too short! LOL @Blodeuedd!! 😀

  9. Anachronist says:

    No, this book is not pink and cute! It is ironic, blue and funny! Read it yourself then comment Blodeuedd – me slipping? Never!!! Ok maybe from time to time, after a glass of champagne…;)

  10. Anachronist says:

    Melissa I am glad you had so much fun…

  11. Anonymous says:

    Thank you so much for the review! I'd love to have Lana in a full-length work. I just have to figure out the perfect plot for her (and ideally, convince my agent and an editor that she needs a book, too!)I might have to do something about the pinkey-cuteness of the cover, though…Laura (aka LuLu)http://lauralsullivan.blogspot.com/(Sorry I have to be anon — for some reason your blog never believes I have a google account.)

  12. Anachronist says:

    Lol, Laura, I know my blog is very distrustful – it sometimes even forgets I am its rightful owner…I do hope your agent and editor can be persuaded soon! Good luck with finding the right plot, she would deserve something juicy!

  13. Blodeuedd says:

    Aha, blue and ironic, I see ;)*pours up champagne*Let's celebrate that fall is here, and look I brought books

  14. Anachronist says:

    *drinks her champagne and thinks that, overall, in some circumstances, pink is actually a nice colour…*mmmm books, yummy! Let's celebrate, I love fall!

Comments are closed.