Friday Flash Fiction

Amy C at Romance Book Wyrm and Dottie atTink’s Place have come up with the idea for a Monday Morning Flash Fiction challenge. Each Monday a new picture prompt will be posted and if you choose to participate – you publish your Fiction Flash  on Friday – 350 words, give or take. Below you can find the picture posted last Monday:







My first thought was: a nice creepy town. My second thought was: a nice creepy, old cemetery. Anyway I continue the misadventures of Mark, lord Dreane and his daughter, not to mention Lara the vampiress…

“Lara let him go at once!”

Mark never heard lord Dreane speaking in such a booming voice. Lara shuddered a bit but her hold on him, or rather mild strangling, never eased, not even a bit.

“He is mine! I made a claim, he shared willingly. You can’t make me do it!!”

Lord Dreane moved menacingly towards them. Mark felt he had to choose the side.

“My lord I’m resigning from my job. I want to stay with her!” he said, adding silently ‘like forever’.

“You stupid fool, do you know what it means?”

Mark’s wide grin must have been pretty disconcerting because Lord Dreane went from angry to furious in no time.

“She will suck you dry you dimwit! She will feed on you until you are dead or until she turns you into the same creature she is and you will have no say in it, none whatever! Do you really want such a fate? A fate worse than death, damn it?!”

Mark was nodding his head forcefully time and again. He really didn’t understand all that fuss but he knew one thing: he felt good only in Lara’s arms, the closer the better. He’d never felt so good before and he longed for more. Lara stroked his head and practically purred with contentment, making Lord Dreane simply livid and losing his steam. Finally his shouts turned into wild sutter and even that ceased after a while. Lara inclined her head in a mocking salute.

“It seems his lordship said it all and didn’t manage to make the impression he wanted. Now my turn. Mark I want you to stay with me permanently. I will care for you and you will obey me. Do you agree my sweet boy?”

Mark’s eyes turned dreamy.

“Yes Lara. I mean yes my lady. Whatever you ask.”

“Bend your neck and let me drink from you before his lordship’s eyes. Show you really mean it.”

Mark did as he was told without any hesitation. Lara kissed his neck, then punctured it and drank a bit, just to prove her point. Lord Dreane groaned in despair. Mark groaned with pleasure. Both of them looked at the vampiress and she basked in their attention.

“Now I suppose it’s time to leave this house. Mark, we are going home,” she said smiling. He was all for going home with her.

“Where to?”

“There’s such a nice little cemetery not far from here. You will like it – quiet and cosy. The caretaker knows me and the needs of my minions so there will be no problem with a right accomodation for you.”

Mark felt as if a bucketfull of icy water was poured on him. One word and the spell was broken.

“Your…minions?”

He stopped smiling and actually frowned. Dreane looked up hopefully. Lara shrugged and clapped her hands twice. Four young men entered the dungeons. Mark eyed them warily. Something like jealousy was bubbling inside him, cold and unpleasant.

“Why haven’t you told me about them earlier?” he asked roughly.

“Well, my dear, I didn’t have to, did I ? Be sure, though, I always like a fresh addition to my harem the best,” answered Lara sweetly. “I am sure all five of you will get on like a house on fire. Everybody, this is Mark. Mark, I give you from left to right: Cosmo, Henri, John and Elias. We are one happy family, everybody on an equal footing, with his own tomb to sleep and the same share of my everyday attention.”

Mark looked at four men in front of him and they glared back, clearly nonplussed by his presence as much as he was nonplussed by theirs.

“Boys where are your manners?” chided Lara, breaking the uncomfortable silence.

“Hi Mark,” said the first of them and others followed glumly. Mark didn’t answer. Lord Dreane moved closer to him and took his hand. He secretly put  a piece of paper inside. Mark hid the paper in his pocket instantly. Nobody noticed. Lara was being suddenly in a hurry – she led them all from the dungeons and outside the building very quickly with lord Dreane following close behind.

“Say your farewell Mark, we are off in a minute,” she said in a husky voice.

Mark bowed and lord Dreane just shaked his head morosely. Both felt they had disappointed each other somehow and there was really nothing left to say.

If Mark wondered how they would get to the cemetery that was soon explained. Two of four Lara’s companions had been already transformed into vampires which meant they could fly. Each of them was strong enough to take another companion on his back. It left Lara and Mark paired together. She smiled but he wasn’t so sure about her charms anymore. The flight was short and the landing – precise, right in the middle of a large cemetery full of big, stone tombs. Lara certainly felt at home here and she was expected – an elderly caretaker with a mouth full of rotten teeth approached her and was busy kissing her hands. Lara gave him a throaty, sensual laugh. Her other men were dispersing fast, not really looking at each other. Mark took the slip of paper which had been handed to him by lord Dreane out of his pocket. The message was short and simple.

“As soon as you get there run like hell. Take the widest alley and head north. I will wait by the gates.  D.”


This entry was posted in friday flash fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friday Flash Fiction

  1. You know… no matter what you say, that is not how I keep my men in the harem.. LOLOh this is really getting good… keep it going!

  2. Anachronist says:

    *batting her eyes innocently* Dear Melissa who is to say I had you and your…er…little harem in mind?*evil laugh*Thank you I think I will!

  3. Why must you always stop at the good part?! I really hope Mark knows what is good for him and runs like hell! Men sometimes can be so dense.

  4. Anachronist says:

    Why must you always stop at the good part?!Because I am evil. ;)Men are being dense from time to time but I think Mark will escape this time. I just have one more twist on my mind…till next Friday anyway!

  5. Tracy says:

    We are one happy family, everybody on an equal footing, with his own tomb to sleep and the same share of my everyday attention."How very generous!Can't wait for the final twist!

  6. Anachronist says:

    LOL Tracy, I hope I will manage to explain the generosity of Lara next week! Glad you liked it!

  7. I can't wait for next week's installment. Nicely done.

  8. Anachronist says:

    Thanks carol for a visit! Yours was not bad either!

  9. Blodeuedd says:

    You truly are evil aren't you 😉 I shall call you the spawn of..nope not that guy, let me think of someone else *thinks about it*

  10. Anachronist says:

    A she-devil? 😉

  11. Oh this is good. I like Lord Dreane. And poor Mark. 🙂 I wish I could write like this. Very well done!

  12. Anachronist says:

    I am sure you can write better, Melissa, thanks!I will continue this week!

Comments are closed.