Wishful Wednesday, 19 October

The meme is hosted by Brooke from Brooke Bluestocking Guide.



 Welcome to Wishful Wednesday! 
As one of my Internet friends is doing a course on Norse culture and laguage (waving to the Red Witch) my wish today is kind of inspired by some entries o her blog. 

In other words would like to read Wolfsangel by M.D. Lachlan.


Here you have the blurb (from Amazon.com.):

Sorcery and savagery fuel this rousing historical fantasy, the first volume in a planned multivolume epic. Acting on the witch Gullveig’s prophecy, Viking raiders kidnap two infant brothers from a village. Wily and clever Vali is groomed to be Viking king Authun’s heir, while Feileg is raised ferally as Gullveig’s werewolf protector as she schemes against the god Odin. The boys enjoy adventures peculiar to their different upbringings until their mutual affection for farmer’s daughter Adisla draws them together as comrades in arms as well as rivals in love. Lachlan (a pseudonym for Mark Barrowcliffe) keeps supernatural inflections to a minimum, opting instead for a colorful and credible evocation of the Norse world as one where the paths of gods and men frequently cross. Vivid in its rendering of the primitive historical past, this entertaining adventure will have readers eagerly anticipating the next book in the series.


 (Actually you don’t have to anticipate anything as the next part is available as well ;))

What are your wishes this week? Have you read the book featured by me? Would you like to read it? I would like to know your thoughts!
This entry was posted in wishful Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Wishful Wednesday, 19 October

  1. I'm not big on historical fiction of any kind. I do like to read reviews of it because I can get a sense of the plot and theme without reading the entire book that likely wouldn't hold my interest. So I look forward to your review real soon. 🙂 I wish to have some available time to read Night Circus.

  2. Tracy says:

    A multivolume epic – should keep you going for a while!

  3. Anachronist says:

    I love reading historical fiction so you can count on me, Lena!Tracy, if it is good it certianly will!

  4. I see you have Vikings and Odin on your mind too.

  5. Anachronist says:

    Yeah, Vikings, Odin but firstly and foremostly Loki ;).

  6. I haven't read many books based on Norse mythology.

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    Lol, it is always good that the next part is already out when you start something 😉

  8. Anachronist says:

    carol you might want to pick one then…Blodeuedd, how lovely of you NOT saying that you've reviewed that one not so long ago…tsk, tsk. You don't want to share, do you? I've ferreted your review out anyway. :D.

  9. Yes, I think Blodeuedd made me put this one on my wishlist. ;D

  10. Thanks for participating. I thought this one looked interesting too!

  11. Anachronist says:

    Thanks Melissa for being the vitness for the prosecution ;p.Brooke my pleasure, thanks for a visit!

  12. Aurian says:

    If you are into the Norse gods at the moment, I wonder, have you read the trilogy by Kevin Hearne? Real funny urban fantasy I guess.

  13. Anachronist says:

    No Aurian, I haven't. I will keep it in my memory (so written down) though, thanks!

  14. I want SCORPIO RACES by Maggie Stiefvater. Just came out – today I think. YAY for books!

  15. Anachronist says:

    An author I recognize because of your blog! Nice wish!

  16. You know, I must be distracted. I just noticed your shout out.

Comments are closed.