Friday Flash Fiction

Amy C at Romance Book Wyrm and Dottie atTink’s Place have come up with the idea for a Monday Morning Flash Fiction challenge. Each Monday a new picture prompt will be posted and if you choose to participate – you publish your Fiction Flash  on Friday – 350 words, give or take. Here is the picture posted this Monday:

When Lilian returned home her father was absent. Again. She asked the first person she happened to meet – Mark – where he could be and that insolent boy just shrugged and scowled at her. As Henri was no longer by her side to make her composed she felt it keenly even though she knew Mark’s state was not his fault. A scowling Mark was still an abomination, especially that she had a very good idea why he was scowling. It was all her fault, after all. What’s more Lara was no longer at the manor – all the vampires all of a sudden seemed to have an urgent business somewhere outside. There was just one place she could go and find more information – the kitchen – and one person who knew or thought she knew more than all Dreane servants combined together – Jenkins, the cook. 
Jenkins smiled at her kindly, gave her a mug of hot chocolate and a bun fresh from the owen. Lilian ate ravenously before she decided to ask about the whereabouts of Lord Dreane.
“Why, my dear, of course I know where he went. Everybody knows. His secret tree hunting hut, where else? He took Roze with him of course and I am sure they are very busy right now, smoothing out all that vampire business. Would you like more of that chocolate? Or maybe a dish of soup?”
“No, thanks Jenkins. I would like to know where that tree hut is. Could anybody show me the way?”
“I suppose our Mark would be more than willing to help and he knows that place pretty well. Mark, come here, you are needed my boy! Do not pretend you are not behind those cupboards now, you know I can see your nose and one of your shoes very clearly! You will lead Miss Lilian to the tree hunting hut Lord Dreane has got from these nice faeries.”
Before Lilian could suggest anybody else or say anything at all Mark emerged from behind the cupboards, a bit dirty and still very sullen but nevertheless definitely present. Jenkins gave him a mug of hot chocolate as well, laughing at his childish attempts to hide and then making a fuss when she noticed the state of his clothes and the general lack of cleanliness. Lilian didn’t comment on the fact that she had asked Mark about her father previously without success, focused on her chocolate and dark thoughts swirling in her head. How come the nicest person around, somebody who exchanged plenty of information with her getting close to nothing in return, was a vampire? Without Henri she would have been devastated by Mark’s attitude and even more ignorant than now. These thoughts made her finish her drink rather quickly, take Mark by his elbow and direct him firmly but without a word to the door. She had to talk with her father and he was her map and compass.
This entry was posted in friday flash fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friday Flash Fiction

  1. Tracy says:

    Mmmm, chocolate!How come the nicest person around, somebody who exchanged plenty of information with her getting close to nothing in return, was a vampire?Life Rule #1 You don't get owt for nowt!

  2. Anachronist says:

    Tracy you are completely right but it was said from the young Lilian's perspective. I think she is bound to find out soon how true this rule is.

  3. I love how well you're incorporating the pictures into you continuing story. Great job, again.

  4. Anachronist says:

    Thanks Carol – I try!

  5. Oh what is going to befall her? Poor girl. And you are evil! Now I crave chocolate!

  6. Anachronist says:

    Oh what is going to befall her? Poor girl. Lilian is a heroine I like writing about so something interesting for sure.Chocolate hmmmm…

  7. Blodeuedd says:

    Bad me! I almost missed this. Bf worked on a new router all evening and I must not have checked all my blogs. Yup my brain is pretty dead ;)*coughs* Miss thing, who challenged me to a duel and did not deliver heated passion herself

  8. Anachronist says:

    Wait till the next Friday. I forgot. *evil grin* My commiserations I hate installing routers and I have to do it on my own. 😦

  9. Mmmmmm chocolate! Way to change my focus from vampires to sweets. Now I need a treat.

  10. Anachronist says:

    I think I will be post yummy pictures with my reviews till the end of November. You don't get fat looking at them ;).

Comments are closed.