Friday Fiction Flash #40- Saturday edition ;)

Amy C at Romance Book Wyrm and Dottie atTink’s Place have come up with the idea for a Monday Morning Flash Fiction challenge. Each Monday a new picture prompt will be posted and if you choose to participate – you publish your Fiction Flash  on Friday – 350 words, give or take.

It’s been ages since I wrote a flash but this week’s pic was so nice and dark that I decided to give it a try:

“Farewell, My Lovely One” by Anachronist

“NEVERMORE” – that’s all he wanted to be written on his grave. No name or surname, no dates, not even the simplest eulogy. Why? It was too late to ask but she was sure even if she had asked before he died he wouldn’t have explained. Obnoxious, conceited, irritating, beloved man. She sobbed with grief every time she thought about him and the sudden illness which ravaged his body and finished his life prematurely. She was visiting his grave day and night, hoping for some relief and finding none, just crouching by that cold marble gravestone with the mysterious caption: “NEVERMORE” and crying her eyes out.

One night she was sitting by the grave, feeling cold and empty, unable to move, hugging herself and crying hard, when she heard a strange noise. An animal? Some graverobbers or other criminals? Drunkards? Young Goths proving that they were braver than their friends had ever imagined them to be? She didn’t care much but the noise was quite disturbing. She raised her head and looked in that direction. It was full moon so she had no problems with noticing a bulky shape walking on two legs,  rather squat and hunched. It keened pitifully.

“Who are you?” she asked, her voice husky from hours of crying.

The creature approached with an unsteady gait.

“Don’t you recognize me, my lovely one?”

She gasped. That voice – although distorted and strangely high-pitched, she would recognize it everywhere.

“Amadon?”

The creature half sobbed half laughed.

“Hello, my lovely one. Yes, it’s me. Still alive but not exactly kicking. Shuffling rather. I did want to die this time. I really, truly did. I infected myself and everything was going just fine. Now take a look at me. All my efforts, all my sufferings – in vain. The only thing I managed to achieve is a new, ugly body of an ape or a miserable gargoyle. Not exactly fun, don’t you think, my lovely one?”


She stood up in a flash, ran to him and threw her arms around his bulky torso, crying again but this time with relief.


“Don’t you dare speak like that, Amadon. Don’t you dare. I love you, no matter in what body you come, as long as it is still you inside.”


“Bloody stupid, aren’t you?” he murmured into her chest. He was a head shorter than she now.


She laughed – her first real laugh in months.

“I need your brains to survive – it’s obvious. Never leave me again.”

“It seems I can’t, even if I wanted to.”

“We are tied to each other. For eternity.”

“It doesn’t have to be like that, my lovely one.”

“But I WANT it to be like that, Amadon.I want to be with you forever.”

“Er…does my opinion count?”

Surprised by his question she stopped hugging him tightly and looked into his dark, shiny eyes.

“Wh…what? You are playing your games with me as usual, right? You can’t possibly…Amadon I LOVE you! I will love you forever! Aren’t you happy we are together again?”

He nodded, his expression suddenly very solemn and even a bit sad.

“Happy? Oh dear, such a nice girl but so stubborn and stupid. I tried to solve it in a honourable way – I really did. Luckily there is a cure for your kind of illness although there is no cure for me. Farewell, my lovely one.”

She didn’t feel the knife until it came out of her body. Then she was more dizzy than in pain; the night around her was turning a bit more darker with every second. Her breathing became laboured and shallow. Then she closed her eyelids. She was so tired and heavy and cold…When her body slumped to the ground she didn’t feel anything anymore.

“As dead as a doornail, and so quickly” Amadon sighed. “In a matter of minutes. Some girls are lucky.”

This entry was posted in friday flash fiction. Bookmark the permalink.