Review: Strong Enough to Love (Jackson #1.6) by Victoria Dahl

Synopsis:
USA TODAY bestselling author Victoria Dahl delivers sassy and sexy contemporary romance in a new series set in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Get a taste with this novella, Strong Enough to Love….

Photographer Eve Hill was completely comfortable being single. Or at the very least, she was completely resigned to it. There was only one man who made every nerve in her body and brain light up when he walked into a room. But Brian Stewart had always been off limits. Hell, she’d never even kissed him!

For Brian, returning to Jackson Hole feels like coming home. But that has nothing to do with the town. It’s Eve drawing him back. Eve and the chance to finally see if they have something or if it’s all been in his imagination.

Eve doesn’t think she can open her heart to Brian again after getting hurt so badly before, though her body still wants him. She offers Brian one night to fulfill their long-denied fantasies, and that’s it. No love or promises, just a chance to get their attraction out of their systems. But can one night really be enough?

Return to Jackson Hole for more steamy romance by Victoria Dahl in Close Enough to Touch, Too Hot to Handle and So Tough to Tame.

It started out so well. Dahl painted the picture of Eve and her life and slowly eased in the tropes. I liked that they’re an older couple, closer to forty than twenty.

And then I started feeling sorry for the throwaway suitor, Mitch, who could never compete with Eve’s one true love or have the Chemistry with her that Brian has. Except that Mitch was the decent, loveable guy who didn’t stalk Eve, break her heart and storm back into her life expecting to replace whatever and whoever was occupying it currently. There is or there should be a difference between wearing someone down and pushing too hard.

It’s safe to say I didn’t care for Brian at all.

The ending? It’s the “unbelievable, too fast, miraculous cock cures all” kind.

Maybe this is a good read for those who already are fans of Dahl’s work, but for a casual reader it offers little. It certainly didn’t entice me to read more from her.

This entry was posted in book review, contemporary, novellas & short stories, rameau, read in 2013 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Review: Strong Enough to Love (Jackson #1.6) by Victoria Dahl

  1. Thanks for the warning, I will steer clear of Ms Dahl's novels.

  2. Kelly says:

    this one definitely doesn't sound like my cup of tea, but I really enjoyed Too Hot to Handle… I'm willing to give Dahl a chance, but I'll pass on this one… Thanks for the review!

  3. Aurian says:

    Nice review Rameau, I will have to read her contemporaries, but this one does not sound to my liking either.

  4. rameau says:

    Thanks. Didn't she start with historical? I might have to try to read one of those but nothing in this made me want to read more of her contemporaries.

  5. rameau says:

    You're welcome.

  6. rameau says:

    It might just be the novella effect, so if you like her other work you'll probably have better luck with her full-length romances. At least I hope you do.

  7. rameau says:

    I want to try at least one other novel of hers before completely swearing off the author. For someone else I'd say don't listen to me, but to you… let me take this hit for the team 😉

  8. Always nice to hear different opinions 🙂

  9. Thanks Aurian for a visit 🙂

  10. Too Hot to Handle? LOL I hope the title is not prophetic. ;p

  11. Contemporary sometimes works for me fine but generally I love my his fiction 🙂

Comments are closed.