3 in 1: The First, The Sparrow, The Choice by Jason Mott

These are prequel short stories for Jason Mott’s book The Returned.

The First (The Returned, #0.5)The First by Jason Mott

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This didn’t suck me in like I expected it to.

None of the characters actually get to feel or process the emotions a return of a lost loved one will imaginably bring up. I’m not blaming the third person limited voice–that bit I actually liked–rather than the writing itself. It’s the telling rather than showing and a terrible distance to the characters who are going through this upheaval.

It’s a lukewarm first glimpse into the world of The Returned, but luckily the preview of the actual novel is better. Still, I wish the author had taken the time to name the black FBI agent.

The Sparrow (The Returned, #0.6)The Sparrow by Jason Mott

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Everything I said about The First applies to The Sparrow as well. Written in third, telling rather than showing, there’s a distance to the characters—-which actually works better here than in The First.

This is a story about a couple who finds a Returned, a little girl, and takes her home. Again the issues of a dead person coming back to life and others’ reactions to it are barely touched upon. There’s simply no time for it at all.

The Choice (The Returned, #0.7)The Choice by Jason Mott

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

When I started reading this I pretty much decided to either love or hate The Choice based on how it ends. Didn’t quite work out that way.

A married man with a family finds out his high school sweetheart is back from the dead and has to make a choice. There was so much potential here, but once again the treatment and exploration of the subject is superficial. The relationships in this short story felt much more artificial than they did in The First or in The Sparrow. The dialogue was wooden.

This entry was posted in book review, novellas & short stories, paranormal, rameau, read in 2013 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3 in 1: The First, The Sparrow, The Choice by Jason Mott

  1. blodeueddb says:

    Ok that makes me glad I did not DL them

  2. Pity – so much potential wasted. The premise sounds intriguing.

  3. rameau says:

    Remember these were just short stories meant to drum up interest in the The Returned. The preview chapter of the actual book was much better written and interesting.

  4. heidenkind says:

    Sounds like he should have just released the book.

Comments are closed.