The Kingdom of Gods (The Inheritance Trilogy 03) by N.K. Jemisin

Synopsis:

The incredible conclusion to the Inheritance Trilogy, from one of fantasy’s most acclaimed stars.

For two thousand years the Arameri family has ruled the world by enslaving the very gods that created mortalkind. Now the gods are free, and the Arameri’s ruthless grip is slipping. Yet they are all that stands between peace and world-spanning, unending war.

Shahar, last scion of the family, must choose her loyalties. She yearns to trust Sieh, the godling she loves. Yet her duty as Arameri heir is to uphold the family’s interests, even if that means using and destroying everyone she cares for.

As long-suppressed rage and terrible new magics consume the world, the Maelstrom — which even gods fear — is summoned forth. Shahar and Sieh: mortal and god, lovers and enemies. Can they stand together against the chaos that threatens?
Title: The Kingdom of Gods, book three of the Inheritance Trilogy. Author: N.K. Jemisin. A city hovers above a parted sea. There's a face hidden in the darkness behind it. Spoilers for the previous instalments of The Inheritance Trilogy.

I am finally done with the book and the trilogy. Took me long enough. It was an interesting journey through contradictions. I don’t think I’ve loved some elements in a book or a series as much as I did here and at the same time hate others with the passion of a thousand burning suns.

As I said, interesting.

This time it’s Sieh, my favourite, who gets a voice of his own and that voice is more distinguishable from the other two by the creative cursing he indulges in but by little more. However, he is a god through and through and some of the stories he tells could not fall from a mortal’s lips, but they do.

I might have mentioned my issues with first person voice story telling and though I tolerate it for a good story such as this, nothing annoys me more than multiple first person voices and head-hopping between two or more characters without distinctive differences between said voices. There were more than one narrator in this book and they all sounded the same. Apart from the cursing.

What’s even more infuriating, is that it was utterly unnecessary. The coda was more than enough to tie up the lose ends and if that information had to be known it could have been fitted within the coda. Mostly.

That however wasn’t my main problem with the story. Once again the love story was.

The blurb lies. The more Jemisin talked about Sieh’s and Shahar’s love, the less I believed in it. Sieh was going through all the right motions but because I didn’t believe the love the betrayal and its consequences fell flat too. That just about gutted the book.

There was so much more to… love, though. The world building was magnificent as was the conclusion of a family feud. In fact, it was the possibility of a reconciliation between Sieh and Itempas that kept me reading. There was a secondary romance, though it too suffered from the poisonous disease called insta love. It however was more palatable if only because I truly wanted one of the characters to be happy.

I think I finally cracked my issue with Jemisin’s writing. It is top-notch with the bigger issues and drawing parallels to our reality, but fails on the emotional foreshadowing. With each Inheritance trilogy books I could logically see why they would end as they did, but I didn’t have the emotional connection with the characters to feel that final punch in my gut. I never understood why Yeine would love Naha even after she became the heartless god and neither did I understand what pushed Shiny’s affections for Oree beyond friendship and into want.

Here, for a moment I thought Sieh would have time to fall in love and learn to appreciate the Arameri he was supposed to love, but then the time jump happened and everything was rushed. And I failed to feel it. It’s especially frustrating because I did feel the complexities of Sieh’s relationship with his parents and the odd members of his divine family. I could empathise with the sorrow mixed with love, guilt and grudge.

I’m torn whether or not I should recommend these books to anyone. Part of me loves them dearly, but another hasn’t felt a dislike such as this in a long, long time. So, maybe, skim the book at the library before you take it home.

P.S. En killed me.

This entry was posted in book review, fantasy, read in 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Kingdom of Gods (The Inheritance Trilogy 03) by N.K. Jemisin

  1. blodeuedd says:

    I loved book 1 so much cos of the voice, but the rest was shit, and the love, sighs

  2. I am yet to read the second book – then I’ll decide what to do. The world build rocks indeed but the feelings…

Comments are closed.