Rameau’s review archive: Life After Joe by Harper Fox

Synopsis:

It’s not the breaking up that kills you, it’s the aftermath.

Ever since his longtime lover decided he’d seen the “heterosexual light,” Matt’s life has been in a nosedive. Six months of too many missed shifts at the hospital, too much booze, too many men. Matt knows he’s on the verge of losing everything, but he’s finding it hard to care.

Then Matt meets Aaron. He’s gorgeous, intelligent and apparently not interested in being picked up. Still, even after seeing Matt at his worst, he doesn’t turn away. Aaron’s kindness and respect have Matt almost believing he’s worth it-and that there could be life after Joe. But his newfound happiness is threatened when Matt begins to suspect Aaron is hiding something, or someone…

Life After JoeLife After Joe by Harper Fox

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Back when I was still feeling optimistic about Scarp Metal I bought this novella on a Valentine’s Day sale. Then I lost my optimism and I had this ebook lingering on my Kindle.

Again, at first, I thought maybe I hadn’t made such a huge mistake after all. Fox will never be one of my favourite authors but her stories are entertaining and I do have certain reading moods when I devour emotional anguish like candy. Yeah, no.

Matt is a horrible self-pitying mess with the worst taste in friends and childhood loves-cum-lovers. He’s supposed to be a medical student but at no point does he use anything resembling medical vernacular and he narrates the story. I couldn’t stand the guy. Oh, well, I’ve read about characters I didn’t like before and I’ve even loved such a book. Nope. Not this time.

There’s no romance. There’s rebound sex and codependency issues. Aaron is a couple of decades older, so there also might be daddy issues. There’s no plot. There are drugs, alcohol, and misunderstandings. And there are unbelievable plot twists that highlight just how too stupid to live Matt is. There’s also the compulsory vilifying of a female character.

And there’s purplish prose.

Let’s file this under not for me, never again, give up hope all ready, and what the hell was I thinking?

Rating icon. A stack of books and the words a total failure and an outline of a skull and bones drawn over them.

This entry was posted in book review, lgbtq, romance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rameau’s review archive: Life After Joe by Harper Fox

  1. lolololol purplish shit happens but never say never ;p

  2. blodeuedd says:

    Oh oh, so not for me

Comments are closed.