Rameau’s review archive: The Petrov Proposal by Maisey Yates

Synopsis:

The first time Maddy Forrester heard her boss’s mesmerizing voice barking orders down the phone, she knew he was a force to be reckoned with. But nothing prepared her for the sight of Aleksei Petrov. He is the last thing Maddy needs, but the first thing she wants!

Aleksei is determined not to mix business with pleasure, but he struggles with the irresistible sparks his feisty secretary ignites in him—she’s a problem he does not want.

The proposed solution? One unforgettable night to fulfill their every wicked desire.

The Petrov ProposalThe Petrov Proposal by Maisey Yates

I think I’m over the billionaire fantasy. It wasn’t a bad book, but I simply couldn’t connect with the characters. The author made all the right moves and there was a sense of history for the characters, but it was told rather than shown. I didn’t really buy that they had any deeper feelings for each other if even for themselves. Also, I was disappointed to find out that his problems trumped hers. In the end the chemistry felt more like a mother comforting her adult child and congratulating him on growing up than a woman deeply in love and happy to see the man of her life finally ready to commit to her.

Also,[highlight to view: I get what the author was trying to do with the necklace, but I found it tacky. It’d been better for him to finish the first necklace however he wanted to finish it and make something new for Madeline].

This entry was posted in book review, contemporary, romance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rameau’s review archive: The Petrov Proposal by Maisey Yates

  1. Billionaire boyfriends are so last year…

  2. xaurianx says:

    I thought all billionaires had to be into BDSM nowadays …

  3. blodeuedd says:

    I have read no billionaire book 😉

  4. rameau says:

    I saw another book from this author on NetGalley but I vaguely remembered disliking this book and resisted requesting it. Billionaires *vomits*

Comments are closed.