Rameau’s review archive: Seven Day Loan (The Original Sinners 0.5) by Tiffany Reisz

Synopsis:

A trained submissive, Eleanor will do whatever her master commands…even spend a week with a stranger. Daniel has been a recluse since his wife’s death, and Eleanor’s lover thinks spending time with her will be therapeutic–especially since Daniel is also a Dom.

Despite her defiant streak, Eleanor can’t resist giving in to Daniel’s erotic demands. But while she’ll let him have her body, she’s determined to keep a guard around her heart. Even if Daniel wants to make Eleanor his permanently….

Seven Day Loan (The Original Sinners, #0.5)Seven Day Loan by Tiffany Reisz

I gave The Siren two stars mainly because of the quality of the writing—and because I didn’t completely hate it. This novella, however, has made me doubt Reisz’s basic command of English. The book has to be really, really bad for me to notice its grammar. I’m terrible with commas and all other forms of punctuation but when words sound wrong to me it hurts my head.

This book hurt my head.

Individual words hurt my head.

Words put together hurt my head.

The plot and character arcs of this novella hurt my head.

Having expressed my critical view on Reisz’s writing before and having read several other critical reviews, I can’t unsee the flaws. I can’t turn back time to when I didn’t see how everyone had to be beautiful and how everyone had to worship Nora and how she was the saviour of broken things, broken men.

”She obeyed. She was trained to obey, trained to want to obey.”

She’s a broken thing, a broken soul, and she was made that way by a predator I refuse to fawn over.

This entry was posted in BDSM, book review, contemporary, erotica, read in 2012 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rameau’s review archive: Seven Day Loan (The Original Sinners 0.5) by Tiffany Reisz

  1. In my humble opinion it is far below meh. If a writer doesn’t have a good command of their mother tongue then perhaps they shouldn’t write at all.

  2. xaurianx says:

    If a book is this badly written, and the author just doesn’t know her own language enough to correct the mistakes (how about using spellcheck?) she should hire a professional editor. I would not be able to keep on reading Bridget.

  3. rameau says:

    Can we just forget Reisz and her books completely? (Prays there aren’t more of her books in the RRA queue.)

Comments are closed.