Rameau’s review archive: Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changeling 01) by Nalini Singh

Synopsis:

A fresh new talent in the realm of paranormal romance, Nalini Singh dives into a world torn apart by a powerful race with phenomenal powers of the mind?and none of the heart… In a world that denies emotions, where the ruling Psy punish any sign of desire, Sascha Duncan must conceal the feelings that brand her as flawed. To reveal them would be to sentence herself to the horror of ?rehabilitation the complete psychic erasure of everything she ever was? Both human and animal, Lucas Hunter is a Changeling hungry for the very sensations the Psy disdain. After centuries of uneasy coexistence, these two races are now on the verge of war over the brutal murders of several Changeling women. Lucas is determined to find the Psy killer who butchered his packmate, and Sascha is his ticket into their closely guarded society. But he soon discovers that this ice-cold Psy is very capable of passion?and that the animal in him is fascinated by her. Caught between their conflicting worlds, Lucas and Sascha must remain bound to their identities?or sacrifice everything for a taste of darkest temptation?

Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changeling, #1)Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh

It started out well but ended on a sour note, at least where the romance is concerned. I don’t mind the fated pairs nature that practically eliminates choice and comes with the shapeshifter romances, but I do mind the utter suffocating of one half’s will. I was hoping that Singh would hit that precious balance between his overprotectiveness and her need stand on her own two feet, but instead it went down the he is always right–path.

What I did like and why I’ll probably continue with the series despite the dismal rating, is the world. I liked the Psy and their reliance on logic and attempt to shun emotion. We need more Vulcans in fiction. I also liked the pack dynamics on the changeling side to a certain extent. They’re a bit too misogynistic for my taste but if I don’t overindulge or attempt to take any of the “romances” seriously, I should be able to cope.

This entry was posted in book review, paranormal, read in 2013, romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rameau’s review archive: Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changeling 01) by Nalini Singh

  1. Ah, Nalini Singh, the author of Bollywood romance novels I love to hate…;p

  2. xaurianx says:

    I am happy you gave it a try Rameau, I really love this series, and I hope you will fall for the main story ARC with the Psy race. I’ve met Nalini in Berlin, and she is a delight to talk with.

    • I don’t doubt the author in question is a nice person, don’t get me wrong. She has such a lovely face…but her books are anything but, in my very humbe and skewed opinion of course.

      • xaurianx says:

        lol I don’t want to imply that because the author is such a nice person, you have to love her books 😉 I’ve read her books way before I ever met her. I wish you could have come to Patricia Briggs’ lecture at the University of Luneburg, about mythology in urban fantasy.

      • Mythology in urban fantasy? I do wish I was there!

    • rameau says:

      The main arc is what keeps me reading these books. Not at a very fast pace, but reading.

  3. heidenkind says:

    Yeah… I had similar feelings. Read the 2nd one and lost interest.

Comments are closed.