The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Sherlock Holmes 04) by Arthur Conan Doyle

Synopsis:

A man like Sherlock Holmes has many enemies. Violent murderers, deviant villains, ghosts of old loves, blackmailers and poisonous scribes, to name but a few. But none are so deadly, so powerful as Professor Moriarty. Moriarty—the only man who can compete with Holmes’ genius. The only man who can, perhaps, ultimately defeat the great detective…

A silhouette of two men standing apart and dressed in 1800 clothing and in front of mountains.When I hear the name Sherlock Holmes I don’t think of Robert Downey Jr or Benedict Cumberbatch. My Sherlock Holmes is and will forever be Jeremy Brett in the 80’s adaptations of Arthur Conan Doyle’s books.

This explains why reading The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes felt like walking down a memory lane with a old, slightly yellowed film playing in the background even though this is the first time I’ve read Conan Doyle’s words.

I know these stories and I know the characters. What’s left for me to discover is shipping. The fandom kind. With that in mind; this is a kissing book:

“For two hours we rambled about together, in silence for the most part, as befits two man who know each other intimately.” p36 The Yellow Face

“A little diplomacy was needed but when Holmes understood that the establishment was a bachelor one, and that he would be allowed the fullest freedom, he fell in with my plans, and a week after our return from Lyons we were under the colonel’s roof.” p 138 The Reigate Squires

“It may be remembered that after my marriage, and my subsequent start in private practice, the very intimate relations which had existed between Holmes and myself became to some extent modified. He still came to me from time to time…” p 282 The Final Problem

“It was my intention to have stopped there, and to have said nothing of that event which has created a void in my life which the lapse of two years has done little to fill.” p. 281 The Final Problem

Yeah. Don’t tell me these were written more than a hundred years ago and that the language has evolved, that the society has evolved. That we can’t judge old works based on today’s morals. Don’t give me any of your rational excuses and let me have my ship. Thank you.

This entry was posted in book review, classic, meh, read in 2014 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Sherlock Holmes 04) by Arthur Conan Doyle

  1. Here you go: Jeremy Brett as Holmes

    Let me also add this: Holmes, created by Doyle, was supposed to be a bit shadowy and controversial – that’s why I suppose contemporary fanfics do him more justice than the bowdlerized versions of his persona. In fact Holmes’s fondness for Watson—often hidden beneath his cold, intellectual exterior—is emphasized in more than one story. Let me add another quote: in The Adventure of the Three Garridebs, Watson is wounded in a confrontation with a villain; although the bullet wound proves to be “quite superficial”, Watson is moved by Holmes’s reaction:

    “It was worth a wound; it was worth many wounds; to know the depth of loyalty and love which lay behind that cold mask. The clear, hard eyes were dimmed for a moment, and the firm lips were shaking. For the one and only time I caught a glimpse of a great heart as well as of a great brain. All my years of humble but single-minded service culminated in that moment of revelation.”

    • rameau says:

      Ship ship shippity SHIP! Thank you for that. I want to read all the Holmes stories Conan Doyle wrote but the library copies are quite popular and ebooks just don’t do the man (with all his faults) justice.

      • The dialogue after that remark is even better imvho:

        “It’s nothing, Holmes. It’s a mere scratch.”
        He had ripped my trousers with his pocket-knife
        (sic!!!)
        “You are right,” he cried with an immense sigh of relief. “It’s quite superficial”

        Take that, shipping enemies!

        By the way try second-hand bookstores, there are always copies of A.C. Doyle in them.

  2. blodeuedd says:

    Never read one

Comments are closed.