A Case of Possession (A Charm of Magpies 02) by KJ Charles

Synopsis:

Lord Crane has never had a lover quite as elusive as Stephen Day. True, Stephen’s job as justiciar requires secrecy, but the magician’s disappearing act bothers Crane more than it should. When a blackmailer threatens to expose their illicit relationship, Crane knows a smart man would hop the first ship bound for China. But something unexpectedly stops him. His heart.

Stephen has problems of his own. As he investigates a plague of giant rats sweeping London, his sudden increase in power, boosted by his blood-and-sex bond with Crane, is rousing suspicion that he’s turned warlock. With all eyes watching him, the threat of exposure grows. Stephen could lose his friends, his job and his liberty over his relationship with Crane. He’s not sure if he can take that risk much longer. And Crane isn’t sure if he can ask him to.

The rats are closing in, and something has to give…

A blond man watches as a redhead plays with a green luminous something.It’s been only a couple months and I hardly remember the first book and the third is coming out, so of course this is the best time ever to read the second. I remembered just enough to recognise the characters as they were reintroduced and what I didn’t remember I was conveniently reminded by handy little recaps. Well done, Charles, well done.

Having said that, the best part of this book wasn’t the titular possession nor the early smut absent—rightly so—from the first book, but the feel of character consistency. Deepening feelings and moving from A to B felt natural for the main couple, and their declarations of love actually felt worth the wait, which is rare these days. Even if I didn’t learn nearly as much as I wanted about the secondary characters.

Unfortunately, other problems remained. The language wasn’t quite as polished as it could have been and was filled with anachronisms that pulled me out of the story. If you know me at all, you know I don’t usually notice these things, so when I do it’s pretty egregious.

If you liked The Magpie Lord you’ll probably like A Case of Posession too, and you’ll keep on reading for the characters rather than the plot, which I am going to do.

Rating icon. A hairless cat is wearing a santa hat and a sour expression. On the hat reads: meh.

This entry was posted in book review, historical, lgbtq, meh, paranormal, read in 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Case of Possession (A Charm of Magpies 02) by KJ Charles

  1. Sorry but I don’t understand one thing: it is supposed to be an m/m historical fantasy romance (quite a mouthful, I know) and you are complaining that the language is a bit too anachronistic? Could you elaborate? I admit I’ve read that one and imvho it sounded fine…

    • rameau says:

      I don’t have my Kindle and its highlights here, but I remember Lord Crane mentioning something about his “cousins coming to get their share” or something like it in reference to his inheritance. The way it was written just sounded something a modern person would say rather than a lord in the 1800s. There were one or two other instances that sounded distracting too, but I’ve forgotten what they were.

      • Oh you mean that the expressions weren’t anachronistic enough…I kind of remember that one – it was an informal remark in a private conversation. As such it worked for me fine. Or perhaps I was thinking about something else. ;p

  2. blodeuedd says:

    I was supposed to say something but my song is on *goes dancing instead*

  3. Pingback: Review: Think of England by K.J. Charles | portable pieces of thoughts

  4. Pingback: Review: Non-Stop Till Tokyo by K.J. Charles | portable pieces of thoughts

Comments are closed.