Rameau’s review archive: Firelight (Firelight 01) by Sophie Jordan

Synopsis:

A half of a read headed girl's face stares at you.Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki, a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.

Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will’s dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away;if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She’ll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.

 

A book that shares its title with this film should be a good read. Right?

Wrong. Sophie Marceau and Stephen Dillane breathed more fire in 103 minutes than was in Sophie Jordan’s writing, which is especially bad considering that the protagonist is a fire breathing draki – a descendant of dragons.

A draki? I wanted to weep, so disappointed was I when I realised the extent of myth evolution here. I was imagining smallish, slightly bigger than human sized dragons living amongst us until chase through the woods took that away from me.

And here’s the heartbreaking part: The beginning was spectacular. It took my breath away and made me want to read through the night just to see what happens to Jacinda and Tamra – what’s with these names again? But unfortunately sleep won and I picked up the book again with refreshed eyes and mind. I didn’t like what I saw.

The middle is by far the weakest part of the story. The author seems incapable of conveying the high school experience as anything other than circular thoughts from hate and depression to self-pity and guilt. What was that? It sounds an accurate description of a teenage mind? It may be so, but it sucks to read.

As the author is fumbling through a teenager’s torment, she forgets to give her protagonist a spine or a morsel of pluck. There were countless times where I would have kicked and screamed and forced my parents to logically justify their claims had I been in Jacinda’s shoes. I might have been wrong and childish, but at least I would have shown some spirit. Jacinda doesn’t kick or even scream. She puffs some hot air and few flames and regrets it immediately. What teenager is so well-behaved? She does ultimately demand answers and point out that her mother is practically forcing a part of her to die, but these confrontations are dragged and watered down.

But that’s not worst of it. The worst parts are the scenes that remind me of and could have been copied from Twilight. It’s another class and another period, but they meet at school just like Bella and Edward did. Only this time she’s the one battling with her self control. And let’s not forget the part where Will walks into the house while Jacinda is there sleeping all alone. Does she confront him? No, she doesn’t. Apart from a passing question of how he got in, the stalker is greeted with pleasure.

 

No. Just no.

On slightly higher note, the book ends like it started with the draki manifestations and conflict. These parts were riveting and had it been all I read, I would have gladly given this book four stars. Alas, it was not to be.

This entry was posted in book review, rameau, read in 2011, YA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rameau’s review archive: Firelight (Firelight 01) by Sophie Jordan

  1. The Twilight bit put me off very efficiently, thank you very much. Such a pity. I like dragons.

  2. Carole Rae says:

    “Apart from a passing question of how he got in, the stalker is greeted with pleasure” That and the picture pretty much had me dying of laughter. xD
    But damn….I was very hopeful about this book. I haven’t come across a good dragon book in eons. *Sighs* *Crosses off list*

  3. blodeuedd says:

    Sigh, disappointing, not gonna borrow it from the library now

Comments are closed.