Let’s dance and have a party – dancing themes in the Western art

Some music first:

Dancing? Nah, thank you. Gossip is equally invigorating but easier on the feet.

Red stockings and black boots pfffft! Everybody knows pink is in this season.” *nods*

No, no, no. Those are my toes. To the left, darling, a little bit to the left.

Now, dear sir, as you’ve had such a good look at me, I would like to ask you a few pertinent questions concerning your finances, bad habits, sexual proclivities and hereditary diseases in your family.

My secret wishes? How lovely you ask. Just for starters: I wish I could wear a black leather jacket, purple Doc Martens with black sculls, ride a Harley and see Metallica live.

Honestly, if my calves were that fat I would enter a convent.

We’ve just tried the sauna for the first time – and survived! We are ecstatic!

Nice fancy dress gentlemen but I’m not a fan of a threesome. Not even during a dance. Thank you but no, thanks.

If you don’t want to dance may I interest you in discussing the uncertainty principle of quantum physics?

Oh no, the old folk are returning home earlier! Girls, the party is over.”

Dancing. What a pointless, physically demanding and potentially dangerous activity.

Tired? I recommend diving in a vodka pool for a while.

Paintings and their authors (from top to bottom):

  • The Ball by Victor Gabriel Gilbert
  • At the Moulin Rouge, the Dance by Henri de Toulouse Lautrec
  • Dance at Bougival by Pierre Auguste Renoir
  • La Leçon de danse (a dance lesson) by Marguerite Gérard and Jean-Honoré Fragonard
  • Danse in the City by Pierre Auguste Renoir
  • Ballet dancers by Edgar Degas
  • Danse by Henri Matisse
  • Dance of Death by Bernt Notke
  • Bal du Moulin de la Galette by Pierre Auguste Renoir
  • A Dance to the Music of Time by Nicolas Poussin
  • Dancers by Fernando Botero
  • Dance by Alphonse Mucha

 A lovely 2015 wish you Rameau and Anachronist – thanks for your visits and comments!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Let’s dance and have a party – dancing themes in the Western art

  1. blodeuedd says:

    LOL. happy new year!

  2. carolerae20 says:

    I was feeling “meh”, but you have certainly made my day! HAHAHAHA so funny!
    Happy NEW YEAR MY DEARS!

  3. heidenkind says:

    My favorite of all the New Years posts! 🙂 Happy New Year Anachronist and Rameau—I hope you both have a fabulous 2015.

    By the way, i love Fernando Botero. My drawing teacher worked with him in Mexico and introduced me to him!

  4. rameau says:

    Hee!

  5. Pingback: Renoir – Private life of a Masterpiece (BBC Documentary) | mostly music

Comments are closed.