Review: Life Discarded by D.E. Haggerty

I was sent a complimentary copy of this one by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Meet Morgan Tyler, a pretty young  librarian in her thirties. When she married Daniel, a handsome man of her dreams, she thought she would embark on a happy life: a house of your own, pets, kids, sorrows and celebrations but always shared with  somebody you love. She was wrong.

Soon after the wedding Daniel, although undoubtedly a charming man and a proficient sex partner, started to show his darker side. He proved to be violently jealous and very possessive. Although he never hit Morgan he was abusing her psychologically. He also was limiting her already rather narrow circle of acquaintances because, all of a sudden, everybody had a bad influence on his wife (read: nobody liked him).

Then Morgan found herself spending more and more evenings and nights alone. Daniel, working as an accountant in a private firm and striving to become the youngest partner ever, had always a good excuse to work overtime and return late – trainings, meetings with clients, conferences and such. He claimed he tried to cater for his young wife’s every need…apart from her need for company.  Then there was that mysterious study of his, always locked tight. As soon as Morgan wanted to discuss why he had to work behind locked doors at home and why she was never allowed inside Daniel was going ballistic. Why?

What I liked:

Life Discarded was a surprisingly quick read – one evening and I managed to devour it whole. Mind you I didn’t want it to be so quick but the story of Morgan Tyler and her doom-laden marriage to Daniel Tyler sucked me in completely. I do like books which start where your ordinary romance novels end – with a wedding ceremony and this one didn’t let me down.

Morgan was a nice character to follow, a woman I could understand and root for. Her decisions, although not always appropriate, never put her in the ‘too-stupid-to-live’ category. I appreciated she kept close ties with her parents and her best friend, Ellie, whose romance with Eric, the firefighter was a nice counterpoint to the main plot.

Finally a word about Daniel. I do love it when authors construct their baddies in such a way that they grant them some redeeming qualities. Here it was obvious that Daniel, despite being a criminal (I am deliberately vague in order not to spoil you very badly), loved his wife and could make her happy when he cared enough to stop and think about it for a minute or two. He was very handsome, fit and even quite charming, all things considered.

What I didn’t like:

Perhaps the author tried her best but still I wish she didn’t drop such huge hints so early in the plot. Unfortunately from the very start I was able to tell, roughly of course, who the main baddie was and what other crimes he might have committed (apart from the crime of marital deception of course). There were some surprises but rather minor ones – overall if you look for a solid whodunit it is not a book for you.

Also the narration could have been a bit smoother but, as I was send an ARC, I won’t criticize it any further.

Final verdict:

I started this one not expecting anything and the novel surprised me in a good way. I would like to read something more of this author. 😉

This entry was posted in book review, chicklit, contemporary, crime, suspence and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review: Life Discarded by D.E. Haggerty

  1. Thank you so much for taking time to read my novel and blog about it. I sincerely love bloggers.

  2. carolerae20 says:

    This sounds really good. I love original stories. Sometimes not HEA end in…well.. HEA. lol

  3. heidenkind says:

    I would think it would be difficult to put an original spin on a story like this. There have so many movies with similar plots.

  4. blodeuedd says:

    I just do not know

  5. rameau says:

    There aren’t enough books about pretty young librarians.

Comments are closed.