Review: A King Undone by Cooper Davis

Synopsis:

A virgin closeted homosexual aged 40 decides that it’s high time to lose his virginity – this time with a man. In order to do so he procures himself a sacral male prostitute. He can afford him, he is a King. They go to bed. And go to bed. And go to bed. And think about going to bed. End of the story.

My impressions:

It will be a very short review. I DNFed this one after reading about 1/3 of the whole book. Why? Oh, here you go: some pretty pictures that explain why far better than any words.

It started well…

 

…but soon enough I was left flabbergasted

 

Final verdict:

If I bought this one my verdict would sound like this:

As I was given this one free of charge (thanks Rameau, I owe you!) let me mourn  that horrible crime against literature in silence.  A book to be avoided even if you like m/m romance. Well, maybe ESPECIALLY if you like m/m romance. Still that guy on the cover is the nicest thing about the whole book ;p.

Rating icon. A stack of books and the words a total failure and an outline of a skull and bones drawn over them.

This entry was posted in a total failure, BDSM, book review, erotica, fairy tale and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Review: A King Undone by Cooper Davis

  1. blodeuedd says:

    GIF attack, wohoo!

  2. Melfka says:

    I really want to see a review of a romance fantasy where you’ll say: “great, compelling characters that I fell in love with, intelligent romance, crafty intrigue/plot and superb world-building”.
    Do I really ask for that much? (Oh, wait, I do.)

    • For some mysterious reasons romance fantasy and me have never seen eye to eye – go figure. Let me also add that asking a question and answering it in one single comment is not fair. I simply don’t know how to answer that in turn. 🙂

      • Melfka says:

        I was hoping you’d answer: Oh, there is a book that meets all the requirements! It’s [title].
        I just recently thought I’d really love to read a good fantasy with a good romance in it, and hoped that maybe you’ve found one already 🙂
        Speaking of which, have you read any of “Kushiel’s” series?

      • No I haven’t. And no, I haven’t met my perfect romance fantasy book either. Of course there are better and worse novels I’ve met on the never ending quest to find one. I was rather fond of Erika Dakin’s romance fantasy (‘The Ritual’ – Theft and Sorcery 01, ‘The Conspiracy’ -Theft and Sorcery 02). They weren’t perfect but they were reasonably readable. Also Master of Crows by Grace Draven was overall not bad. Have you read any of those? If not you can find my reviews posted on this site :).

      • Melfka says:

        I haven’t read either and judging by your review I actually might enjoy the “Master of Crows” – next time I feel like reading fantasy romance I’ll definitely try it, thank you! 🙂

      • You are most certainly welcome!

  3. carolerae20 says:

    A King? A virgin? Homosexual? I am confused. Why would a King wait until he was 40 to get laid EVEN if he preferred men…0.o

  4. heidenkind says:

    lol Curious: Did Rameau give it to you because she liked it or hated it?

  5. rameau says:

    All in the name of science… the science of bad books. *nods* I’d say I’m sorry, but I’m not. Thanks for the lovely review.

Comments are closed.