The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson

Synopsis:

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

Or.

A man decided to rewrite Tolkien and all those other white man fantasists who had come before him with one crucial difference: His characters would be selfish. They’d nod along to saving the world all long plotting their escape through the back door of the tavern. Now with extra purple prose!

I kid. Slightly.

Men on horses in front of a huge low hanging full moon. Or like every other 90's fantasy book cover.

Wasn’t that a gigantic waste of time.

The first book hooked me with its characters and the fantastic audiobook narrators dragged me through the hellish purple prose all the way to the end. For such a long series I have little to say.

For a world supposed to have been built on the fear and respect of capable women, it was terribly misogynistic. No one really acted like the Aes Sedai were a force to be reckoned with. No, they were cunning women with ageless faces and never to be trusted.

I liked Mat, at least his misogyny was the honest kind—lewd gestures and words—unlike Rand’s. It never occurred to Rand that it wasn’t his choice, that it was their choice, that it was up to the three women to decide whether they wanted to share him separately or together. Alas, the poly was not to be. What a shame.A man holding a sword up in a ridiculous pose in front of a almost new moon.

Perrin was the only decent sort of the lot, so of course his wife was almost raped and he had his “she cheated but I love her enough to forgive her” moment.

The White Wizard of this series didn’t get to save herself. That was true for others as well. Of the women who lived I can’t remember anyone saving herself. They all had to be aided in one way or another. To make sure, I wanted to go back and re-listen parts of the Last Battle but not anymore after that ending.

Only boys get to live. That’s pretty much the series summary in one line.

 

Rating icon. A stack of books and the words a total failure and an outline of a skull and bones drawn over them.

This entry was posted in a total failure, book review, fantasy, read in 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson

  1. Melfka says:

    Oh wow. I admire you for reading it all (or listening to it). I gave up after the first book when I was confronted with poorly written fantasy version of Dune (Aes Sedai always seemed to me like a ugly step sister of Bene Gesserith…). And that happened when I was still in my teens, and my reading tastes were less refined.
    The only other thing I can remember from the book was that the author emphasised there were three boys and nobody knew which of them was the chosen one which I thought was a cool idea… except for that he wrote the book the way it made it pretty clear.
    By the way, steer clear of Terry Goodkind’s series. It feel like a copy of a copy.

    • rameau says:

      I didn’t understand the “which one is it” angle either. The first book started with Rand so of course he would be *it*. Tough luck for the other two who were pulled along for the ride.

      I started reading this series, in Finnish, when I was fifteen. I can’t remember if I read Dune translations after or before I started it, probably after since Dune was finished and I gave up on Jordan and fantasy somewhere around translated book 13 (which would be the beginning of English book 5 or so). The point is, I never thought of that about the Aes Sedai and Bene Gesseriths.

      And I’m familiar enough with Terry Goodkind. I watched the show, thought of reading the books and then learned better 😉

  2. I read one of these, jumping right in the middle of the series, and even though I was desperate enough to wade to the very end with a lot of skimming I decided never to try another Wheel of Time book again. It is simply not my kind of fantasy. Still I admire your review – I wouldn’t be able to list all the flaws so succinctly (but always spot-on).
    Terry Goodking bleargh. I tried, I swear I did. Horrible.

    • rameau says:

      Sometimes the only way to kill the darlings of my youth is to go through them again, in painful detail.

  3. blodeuedd says:

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEVIL!
    You blasphemous woman!
    *sobs*
    I need chocolate!

  4. carolerae20 says:

    awwwwe. Bummer this was a failure. I still wanna check it out.

    • rameau says:

      I recommend checking out library copies. The epic arc is epic and the only thing that kept me reading after the character assassinations became intolerable.

  5. heidenkind says:

    One of my friends loaned me a book in this series in middle school. I was like, *meh shrug* The only thing I remember about it was that she thought “cat-ass-trophy” was the cleverest thing ever.

    • rameau says:

      *snort* The avoidance of cursing and even the word sex got to ridiculous proportions as the characters aged and got married. Even Nynaeve who was supposed to be the Wisdom aka midwife of Two Rivers.

Comments are closed.