Review: Wednesday by Dennis Sharpe

I got a complimentary copy of this one in exchange for an honest review – thank you very much! That fact didn’t influence me in any way.

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

When everything in life has been against you, who can blame you for not playing nice with others?

My name is Wednesday Valentine. For the last seven years I have been abused and used by a sadistic bastard named Klein. Now he wants me dead- only he doesn’t have the balls to kill me himself. Alvin, who was sent to do Klein’s dirty work, decided to save my life (repeatedly) instead of taking it. But no matter how much someone cares about you, they can only do so much…can only go so far. You are your only real shot at coming out on top.

Sometimes reclaiming your life requires a body count.

My impressions:

Have you watched ‘Leon the Professional’? ‘Kick-Ass I’ ? Kick-Ass II’? If you have and you’ve enjoyed them this novel might be right up your alley. If you remember their young characters, especially the girls who never hesitate to shoot, fight and kill you’ll know what to expect. Overall I hoped this one would work for me better but it didn’t, not quite.

Wednesday Valentine, one of the main leads of this novel, is a violent young woman who is running from her former ‘master’ – a thug who’s bought her from her daddy dearest and treated her worse than most people treat their pets. The story of her sad and short life is told by Alvin, a man dying from his wounds and treating his murderer with a tale in order to buy more time so Wednesday can escape. The premise was good, the execution was not bad but the main heroine was, in my very humble opinion, way over the top. Let me explain.

I know in America the idea of child abuse is perhaps the last frontier, an unthinkable evil which immediately makes any character involved look black. The abuse more often than not entitles the victim to lash out at their tormentors. Wednesday is an abused teen who has to grow up pretty damn fast – a small army of assassins is hunting her and her protector, Alvin. Instead of growing up, though, the girl almost drove me mad with her airs and graces. In her view all the world existed so she should be avenged and pampered and coddled because as a child she’d been wronged. Terribly wronged. By her own dad and then by other bad men. A news flash is coming: plenty of people have been wronged as children, some of them even worse than Wednesday and still few of them decided to go on a killing spree.

Oh yes, there was that Shakespearian, old ‘she’s been sinned against more than sinning’ leitmotiv but it wasn’t especially convincing from the psychological point of view. Let’s face it:  if a girl like Wednesday survived her ordeal (after all bigger miracles happen from time to time) in real life she would more likely land in a closed ward of a mental health hospital or at least had decades of mental treatment before her, not a glamorous career.  I like flawed, broken heroines but this time I think the author went too far, especially near the end of the novel.

Final verdict:

Not a bad story and told in a captivating manner but also an improbable one from the psychological point of view which, ultimately, was a deal-breaker for me.

This entry was posted in book review, contemporary, crime, grimdark and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Wednesday by Dennis Sharpe

  1. blodeuedd says:

    Maybe not for me..def not

  2. heidenkind says:

    She sounds like O-Ren Ishii from Kill Bill.

Comments are closed.