Review: Sciaphobia (book 01) by Roy Dodd

I was sent a complimentary copy of this one by the agent of the author in exchange for an honest review.

sciaphobia – a fear of shadows; 

Synopsis:

Jacob and his grandson, Shadow, are renowned exorcists, coming from a family with a lot of experience in that field. They seem to be strong enough to deal with practically every possession but then they encounter the strange phenomenon of consensual possession hidden in a body of a young boy. Virtue and Vice may force them to put aside their indiscriminate demon-slaying and demon-hating. Intrigued, they team up with an unlikely group, including an innocent teen girl, Anna, and an ex- doctor who now calls himself Seto, to take down a bloodthirsty, all-powerful demon Hell-bent on conquering the world.

My impressions:

At first I really liked this book. The narration was smooth and fast enough, the characters interesting enough, properly shadowed and three-dimensional and the demons were just out of the world, especially an entity known as Joan of Arc. Even religious issues were treated in a sensible way.

Then the author decided to complicate things a bit and I suppose the resulting mess made him to include a kind of glossary or character guide at the end. Well, correct me if I am mistaken but I think that if your characters need a guide there must be something wrong with them. Then the actions of the said characters started to sound suspiciously like jumping the shark so I knew what was wrong with them. If you don’t have very strong denouement ideas then perhaps you shouldn’t make your main antagonist so strong. I don’t want to spoil anyone but in the end the said Joan proved to be completely out of their league, able to possess anyone and everyone, even several people at the same time. And then SPOILER she lost. Personally I found it very suspicious. Or perhaps I like the historical persona of Joan of Arc too much for my own good, who knows.

Final verdict:

Not a bad novel penned by an author who’s got a lot of potential but with the ending which made me unsatisfied. If you like gory stories of demonic possessions you might appreciate this book more than I did.

Rating icon. A hairless cat is wearing a santa hat and a sour expression. On the hat reads: meh.

This entry was posted in book review, contemporary, crime, horror, meh, religious and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review: Sciaphobia (book 01) by Roy Dodd

  1. blodeuedd says:

    Fear of shadows, lame

  2. heidenkind says:

    So the spoiler is that she lives, right? Right??!

  3. Carole Rae says:

    Shadows? Mmmmm. I’m scared of the dark, so I can kinda sorta understand.

Comments are closed.