The Unquiet Grave (The Caitlin Ross series 01) by Katherine Lampe

Synopsis:

Caitlin Ross is a musician and a witch who, once upon a time, for a reason or two, decided that she wouldn’t use her powers. Ever. Not worth the risk. Still when she is hired for a gig in The Emerald Isle, the newest Gordarosa’s Irish pub, she knows her powers will have to be used at some point no matter whether she wants it or not.

As soon as she enters the pub she is hit by a vile atmosphere. Then she sees a ghost who is asking for her help. Even the expensive furnishings and the current owner’s pleasant face can’t hide something ominous hanging over that place. What is it? A demon? A curse? Something even worse?

It will take a lot of courage and all the help Caitlin can get from her Scottish husband, Timber, to solve that mystery.

My impressions:

I stumbled upon this book by accident. I felt worn to a frazzle after the Yule period full of false cheerfulness, a lot of hustle and bustle combined with overwhelming boredom (my ordinary state of mind in the end of December and early January) so I asked on Twitter for suggestions of a Wiccan/pagan novel – nothing stirs my inner pagan better than Xmass. I was given that title, I went to Goodreads, checked it out and I decided to give it a chance, especially as it was available for free. It was a good decision.

I approached the novel without any expectations whatsoever which was good. At the very beginning I became more than pleased by the simple fact that the main female lead, Caitlin, was already happily married. It boded so well – no freaking romance! The plot I found very sensibly paced, neither too slow nor too fast but it kept me interested all the way. Then Breda Ni Fhearraigh was introduced and my opinion of the author and the book soared even higher. Breda was a nice-looking girl but she clearly had that metaphorical second bottom I adore in my literary characters. Caitlin of course wasn’t that bad either and I have to mention a sentient being called Tintri Fionn who also managed to win me over even if he/it (?) wasn’t exactly that nice. I don’t want to spoil anything for you; let me just mention that there are almost no baddies in this book, everybody, even a demon, is three-dimensional and somehow humane.

Any complaints? I admit there were too many infodumps concerning witches, magic, tarot and ghosts/demons but I didn’t mind as I found them interesting.If you are not such a nerd like me you might find them a bit annoying; still they added to the world build so I suppose they weren’t very bad. I also noticed some typos good editing would have eliminated but not many of them (three at most).

Final verdict:

One of better UF books, self-published or otherwise, I’ve read for a very long time. If you don’t mind magic, witches and demons in your fantasy you should read it. What’s more, it is available for free – just follow this link.

 

This entry was posted in book review, chicklit, contemporary, crime, fantasy, urban fantasy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Unquiet Grave (The Caitlin Ross series 01) by Katherine Lampe

  1. Carole Rae says:

    Glad you liked it. It does sound good

  2. heidenkind says:

    I love pleasant surprises like that!

  3. xaurianx says:

    This sounds good, and with a title like that, almost like a paranormal cozy mystery …

Comments are closed.