Dying for a Living (Jesse Sullivan 01) by Kory M. Shrum

Summary (from Goodreads):

On the morning before her 67th death, it is business as usual for Jesse Sullivan: meet with the mortician, counsel soon-to-be-dead clients, and have coffee while reading the latest regeneration theory. Jesse dies for a living, literally. As a Necronite, she is one of the population’s rare 2% who can serve as a death replacement agent, dying so others don’t have to. Although each death is different, the result is the same: a life is saved, and Jesse resurrects days later with sore muscles, new scars, and another hole in her memory.

But when Jesse is murdered and becomes the sole suspect in a federal investigation, more than her freedom and sanity are at stake. She must catch the killer herself—or die trying.

My impressions:

I liked the beginning of this one, I really truly did. The narrative started with a punch and was done skillfully up to a point, the world build was perhaps a tad too simple but with a new, original take on zombies, and the heroine seemed a sensible girl at first (she had a dog!). Then I hit the first problem: Jesse, apart from that lovely pug,  had also a boy-toy named Lane and a kind of best friend with benefits, a lesbian called Ally. You know how I hate love triangles; here I got something too cliche to be even tolerable because, like in plenty of other series, Jesse said all the time that she liked Ally but only as a friend (but it didn’t prevent them to go to bed and kiss in public) and she didn’t want more commitment from Lane than what she’s already got (meaning hot sex when Ally was busy) just to prove how dark and scared she was.

Then the troubles of her private life were put on the back burner by the strange murders of necronites around her and I enjoyed that ride. Not for long. I encountered another bald patch pertaining the plot. Personally I call it ‘one twist too many’ – it seemed everything and everybody was conspiring against our sweet main lead and she was, surprise, surprise, kept completely in the dark. Add to that another unnecessary twist near the very end (spoiler, highlight to read or skip) when Lane proved to be another necronite so after he was killed by a bunch of baddies he kind of  resurrected ;p.I really don’t appreciate such solutions and my respect for the narrative skills of the author diminished to a very low level. I don’t want to see a love triangle, bisexual or otherwise, abused in another series. I hate it when people who are supposed to die go on living. Add to that surprising editing mistakes which happened in the second part of the book: mixed tenses, missing words, extra words where a sentence had been rewritten but pieces of the old one left in…

Overall I think here I bid Jesse Sullivan  farewell even if I remain slightly intrigued by the religious aspect of the novel connected to her father.

Final verdict:

Somehow it is more and more difficult for me to find a good UF novel. Eh life. Lower parts of ‘meh’ it is.

 

This entry was posted in book review, chicklit, contemporary, crime, fantasy, lgbtq, paranormal, religious, urban fantasy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Dying for a Living (Jesse Sullivan 01) by Kory M. Shrum

  1. Melfka says:

    See? Now I’ll dread ever giving you _my_ urban fantasy… 😛
    Too bad it turned out “meh”, though, the premise did sound slightly interesting.

  2. blodeuedd says:

    She is murdered and she is the suspect? What

  3. Carole Rae says:

    Seems too frustrating for me. LOL I shall pass. Thank you for sharing. 😀 Happy Sunday!

  4. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says:

    Ugh. Sorry about the triangle. Sounds like it had a good premise going until that. Bummer.

Comments are closed.