Hold Your Breath (Search and Rescue 01) by Katie Ruggle

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

In the remote Rocky Mountains, lives depend on the Search & Rescue brotherhood. But in a place this far off the map, trust is hard to come by and secrets can be murder… As the captain of Field County’s ice rescue dive team, Callum Cook is driven to perfection. But when he meets new diver Louise “Lou” Sparks, all that hard-won order is obliterated in an instant. Lou is a hurricane. A walking disaster. And with her, he’s never felt more alive…even if keeping her safe may just kill him.

Lou’s new to the Rockies, intent on escaping her controlling ex, and she’s determined to make it on her own terms…no matter how tempting Callum may be. But when a routine training exercise unearths a body, Lou and Callum find themselves thrust into a deadly game of cat and mouse with a killer who will stop at nothing to silence Lou-and prove that not even her new Search and Rescue family can keep her safe forever.

My impressions:

Ostensibly everything was ok in this one. A feisty heroine with a stalker problem. A handsome, muscled white knight who has to protect her but has OCD issues. A baddie who, uncharacteristically, gets his own voice. The novel was a breeze to read which means it was appropriately paced and skillfully written. Sense of humour? Present. The romance was slow, the suspense was playing an important role in the plot and, thanks Heavens, the author did know a thing or two about guns, diving, ice rescue, firemen and living in the middle of nowhere. A perfect romance? No reason to complain? Ha – don’t count on that.

My first remark: it was simply annoying that almost everybody living in Field County was so handsome/pretty. Actually it was pretty spooky, as if they have been infected by a bunch of aliens and it became boring after a while. Louise ‘Lou’ is like an adult version of Tinker Bell; her love interest, Callum, the captain of the ice rescue dive team, is like one of those Norse gods, blonde, muscled, and sarcastic and don’t let me start on different secondary characters, every single one looking like a magazine cover model…ok, I admit it was actually a minor issue but still it made my hackles rise.

My second remark including a far more serious problem: I don’t remember the exact number but it’s been one of many romance books I’ve read in which the woman has to do everything, like going to the Moon and back, in order to find her true love and be ‘relly heppy’. You know the drill: she gets a divorce or dumps her steady b-friend, leaves her job, leaves her home, goes to a completely new place, finds a completely different job, often changes her appearance and clothes, changes her attitude, her skills, and only then she meets her Prince Charming. On the other hand the main lead does nothing. He just exists, waits for his beloved to show up and then shows his interest – easy peasy. Such a premise is starting to make me seriously disgruntled and it’s rather strange that authors who are supposed to be women who write for women and about women don’t see anything wrong with it. I do. It lacks proper balance and is simply unfair – for both sexes I suppose.

Finally, the cover – I find it very deceiving. Yes, I do like the fact that, contrary to many other covers, the guy has a head attached to his torso but the narrator of this book is a woman so why she isn’t featured there? The action takes place in winter, and much is made of members of the dive team suiting up, yet the man is shirtless and holding a gun, another thing that never happens. I know, I know, marketing gurus never read the products they are trying to sell…

Final verdict:

“It must have been love but it’s ooooover now, it must have been good but I’ve lost it somehow…” yeah, my feelings exactly. Now guess the song ;p.

This entry was posted in book review, chicklit, contemporary, crime, mystery, romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hold Your Breath (Search and Rescue 01) by Katie Ruggle

  1. blodeuedd says:

    I think I have this one…maybe

  2. Carole Rae says:

    The first one would annoy me too death and the cover is odd.

  3. heidenkind says:

    What part of the country is this set in? I have honestly never heard of an “ice rescue dive team” in the Rocky Mountains.

  4. Melfka says:

    Definitely not on my list of interest. Perfect people? No thank you. That reminds me that I need to read that “Master of Crows” (if I recall correctly) you’ve recommended to me aaaaaaages ago.

Comments are closed.