Movie review: Suicide Squad (2016) directed by David Ayer

Movie info:

Figuring they’re all expendable, a U.S. intelligence officer decides to assemble a team of dangerous, incarcerated supervillains for a top-secret mission. Now armed with

government weapons, Deadshot (Will Smith), Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie), Captain Boomerang, Killer Croc and other despicable inmates must learn to work together. Dubbed Task Force X, the criminals unite to battle a mysterious and powerful entity, while the diabolical Joker (Jared Leto) launches an evil agenda of his own.

My impressions:

This movie was one big disappointment. Nobody was really evil. Nobody was really good either. What’s worst, nobody, neither evil nor good, was intelligent. The narration was shoddy and lazy- I started to skip scenes after twenty minutes of watching, a kind of my own personal record. Nothing made sense – not really. Different story arcs led nowhere. Monsters were predictable, their enemies – even more so. The film’s highly fetishized violence, ostensibly its original feature,  didn’t even have the exciting tingle of the wicked thing. It was bland and fake, copying slavishly scenes from many other movies. Boring from the beginning to the very end.

What’s more, all female heroines were just stupid, thinly-written cliches of cliches of many other cliches (not that male leads were better). Take Harley Quinn as an example. She used to be a psychiatrist, allegedly an educated, clever professional but what was really inside her (at least according to the director of this flop)? A stupid w***e who goes around wearing just panties on her butt and dreams of marrying the very man who tortured her to insanity and turned into a sado-maso doll. A man she fell in love with because of his…nice character? A set of spiky teeth AND green hair? A distant similarity to young Hannibal Lecter? *headdesk* What a lovely role model for all those young, impressionable girls around…

Final verdict:

Complete waste of time – could you resurrect Batman, please? Let me express my disappointment by including an ‘honest trailer’ instead of the official one – it says and shows it all.

This entry was posted in fantasy action movie, movie review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Movie review: Suicide Squad (2016) directed by David Ayer

  1. heidenkind says:

    I am so glad I didn’t see this in the theater.

  2. Carole Rae says:

    I didn’t mind it. It was better than I expected, but I may be biased because I love the DC and Marvel world. LOL. But I am not a fan of Harley. >_< I don't get her. But the movie did pretty good sticking to the characters from the original comics. I just wish she wasn't so slutty.

Comments are closed.