Warped Ambition (A Jo Riskin Mystery Book One) by Debbie S. Tenbrink

I got a complimentary copy of this one from the author in exchange for an honest review – thank you very much!

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

When the battered body of a teenage girl is found in a dumpster, Lieutenant Jo Riskin is called to take the case. Investigating with her partner, Detective Lynae Parker, Jo uncovers secrets, loyalties, and ambitions that give motives to a surprising number of suspects , including a boyfriend from the wrong side of the tracks.

While immersed in her current case, Jo is battling her own personal demons. After two years, she is still grieving over the loss of her husband, who was killed in the line of duty. New information that could help solve his murder, and let her move on with her life, is within her grasp.

Barricading her heart, Jo is determined to solve both cases and bring the killers to justice.

My impressions:

I liked a lot about this whodunit. First off there were a lot of women in it. The MC was a female police officer who had a female friend, another police officer, as a sidekick. They were investigating a death of a pregnant teenager. Mind you all of them had their problems and flaws which made them very interesting characters and their skeletons in the respective closets were rattling loudly. Allegedly nothing new but it sounded so right and so true.

What’s more Joellen wasn’t left in a kind of artificial void. She had a family to take into consideration and a dog, Mojo. She also had a bit of a past. Once again, seemingly nothing out of ordinary and yet many heroines like her have to make do without such a background and so they seem like plastic dolls to me. Although I didn’t have any problems with guessing the perpetrator of the murder, their identity was logical, fitting the rest of the book. The narration was smooth and dynamic – I was able to read the whole novel in one evening.

Finally let me say that the copy sent to me was of very good quality and flawlessly edited, another huge asset.

If I had to complain a bit or indicate any weak points I’d look at the title. Warped Ambition explains just a bit too much in my very humble opinion, is a tad too suggestive. I would leave it at ‘ Warped’ or change altogether. Also the novel is worth a more captivating cover art – that generic, blurred figure of a woman is too bland.

Final verdict:

I wish Joellen and her creator all the best and I would love to read the continuation of her adventures.

This entry was posted in book review, chicklit, contemporary, crime, mystery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Warped Ambition (A Jo Riskin Mystery Book One) by Debbie S. Tenbrink

  1. heidenkind says:

    Feminist mystery!

  2. blodeuedd says:

    Interesting, and you liked it

  3. Carole Rae says:

    Woah. I’m glad it turned out good! These whodunits have a tendency to be meh…especially for me.

Comments are closed.