Knight’s Shadow (Greatcoats 02) by Sebastien de Castell

Synopsis (from Goodreads): 

A few days after the horrifying murder of a duke and his family, Falcio val Mond, swordsman and First Cantor of the Greatcoats, begins a deadly pursuit to capture the killer. But Falcio soon discovers his own life is in mortal danger from a poison administered as a final act of revenge by one of his deadliest enemies. As chaos and civil war begin to overtake the country, Falcio has precious little time left to stop those determined to destroy his homeland.

My impressions:

Yes, I jumped right in the middle of a series – and I am proud of it. Who is to make me read all those series in order? ;p Anyway, a good book should be able to defend itself and stand alone without any problems, no matter whether it is the first, the second or the last part, right? And here I’ve experienced problems, unfortunately.

Aline, Aline, Aline…her name definitely should be in the title as, at the beginning, it is repeated at least two-three times on every page. Who is that precious Aline? A thirteen-year-old daughter of a murdered monarch, King Paelis, to be protected at all cost, or so her grandmother decrees. My problem was I am not exactly fond of young girls in their teens as book characters. Or prospective queens…

Ok, let’s return to the beginning. It’s a cloak-dagger-and-magic high fantasy novel featuring Falcio who is a Greatcoat meaning a kind of super-soldier. Falcio was sworn to protect Aline (whom else) and put her on the throne of Tristia but, meanwhile, he fell in love (no, not with Aline, what a pity). I disliked him instantly. Aline felt pangs of conscience because of that (Falcio will never be happy, awwww!) which, I suppose, should have made me like the kid but it didn’t. I was rooting for Trin instead – the evil, scheming eighteen-year-old b**ch who, allegedly, slept with her own uncle and was an insincere vixen and a skilled actress (translation: she was pretty, devious, clever and had an army bigger than Aline, imagine the cheek). Oh, and Trin’s late mother, Patriana, used to be a major political player. In previous part she managed to capture and torture Aline and, vicariously, Falcio. I wished she was still alive.

Dariana and Tailor, two female secondary characters, helped me to go through first 200 pages but somehow the whole conflict failed to interest me so I DNFed this one. I hate noble heroes. They reek of hypocrisy.

Final verdict:

I do hope the first part was better but, to be honest, I am  not especially anxious to find out. Lower strata of meh – just because black female characters were really good.

Rating icon. A hairless cat is wearing a santa hat and a sour expression. On the hat reads: meh.

This entry was posted in adventure, book review, fantasy, historically-flavoured, meh, rating and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Knight’s Shadow (Greatcoats 02) by Sebastien de Castell

  1. blodeuedd says:

    ANA! You can not jump right in the middle of a fantasy series! Then stuff does not make sense

  2. heidenkind says:

    You rebel you! ::fist bump:: 🙂

  3. Carole Rae says:

    hahaha oh my – you are turning it to me. Except you did it knowingly. ;D I normally don’t find out until a couple of chapters in. If the book was super good and a good stand alone, I don’t find out until I go back on Goodreads and then realize my mistake. xD
    But yeah – not for me I do not think.

Comments are closed.