The Queen of Attolia (the Queen’s Thief 02) by Megan Whalen Turner

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Revenge
When Eugenides, the Thief of Eddis, stole Hamiathes’s Gift, the Queen of Attolia lost more than a mythical relic. She lost face. Everyone knew that Eugenides had outwitted and escaped her. To restore her reputation and reassert her power, the Queen of Attolia will go to any length and accept any help that is offered…she will risk her country to execute the perfect revenge.

…but
Eugenides can steal anything. And he taunts the Queen of Attolia, moving through her strongholds seemingly at will. So Attolia waits, secure in the knowledge that the Thief will slip, that he will haunt her palace one too many times.

…at what price?
When Eugenides finds his small mountain country at war with Attolia, he must steal a man, he must steal a queen, he must steal peace. But his greatest triumph, and his greatest loss, comes in capturing something that the Queen of Attolia thought she had sacrificed long ago…

My impressions:

I love the cover art – those hands are lovely and the colours simply resonate with me. What’s more, the content is almost as good as the cover.

It’s a different book from the first part, told in third-person instead of first and featuring a romance story arc. What’s more important it has Irene, the Queen of Attolia and that young woman was completely able to capture my imagination and keep me reading. Eugenides grew up a lot and proved to be an interesting character to follow, mainly because the author wasn’t afraid to torture him a bit. Ok, not just a bit to be honest. It is a far darker story, with some disturbing scenes especially for a person with vivid imagination. Mind you that book doesn’t feature one single sexual encounter. Well, that YA label is a bit of a misnomer. I’d be rather careful with recommending that novel to any teenager. Perhaps I am too cautious but I caught very adult vibes in here and rather serious topics, like how to deal with disability, how to forgive and forget and how to reconstruct your life after major trauma like torture.

The plot featured some unexpected twists but only until the middle of the book. The ending was obvious – at least to me. Still I enjoyed it immensely. Overall the second part was so much better than the first, even though the fantasy world build was a bit limited by current action.

Final verdict:

A rare YA series with the second part better than the first (and the first wasn’t bad in the first place). Now I want to read the final book rather badly.

Other books by Whalen Turner reviewed on this blog:

The Thief

This entry was posted in adventure, book review, fantasy, historically-flavoured, YA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Queen of Attolia (the Queen’s Thief 02) by Megan Whalen Turner

  1. blodeuedd says:

    I enjoyed it, though not as awesome as I thought it would be

  2. heidenkind says:

    This is one of my favorite novels. I even bought the hardcover

    • I admit my paperback is going to stay with me as well – rarely a second part of a series is better than the first and this was seriously good.

  3. Carole Rae says:

    Woah! You liked a YA? What a rare gem!

  4. Pingback: The King of Attolia (The Queen’s Thief 03) by Megan Whalen Turner | portable pieces of thoughts

Comments are closed.